We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great happy hour menu” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Local 16

Local 16
1602 U St NW, Washington DC, DC 20009-6210 (U Street Corridor)
202-265-2828
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #1,419 of 2,701 Restaurants in Washington DC
Price range: $20 - $35
Cuisines: American, Mediterranean, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Outdoor seating
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: U Street Corridor
Minneapolis MN
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Great happy hour menu”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2012

I liked the ambiance, although it was a bit dark for 7:30 p.m. Happy hour prices were good, snacks were inventive - e.g. deviled eggs, shrimp croquettes. Dinner pizza was great, especially the crust. Yum.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    11
    6
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Seattle
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“French creator with Southern dishes”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2012

Delicious. The fried chicken is not to be missed. The deserts are definitely French and wonderful. Really a special place for dinner.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Sometimes 'Local' is NOT good.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2012

Meeting a group of West Point classmates for the 'Brunch Special' at what appeared to be a neat 'U Street' gathering place. But today was NOT a day to gather together. We had reservations, they had no idea what we were talking about, but after a little talking we got the outside patio table. Now the task was to be waited on. That took forever and the poor young woman just was not up to the task. Water glasses about 1/2 full and warm (but with ice). When our orders came, the French Toast was nothing but 4 slices of cold toast without any syrup, 'thats french toast' as we were told. Sorry but NOT. Service was horrible, even the waitress complained to us about how the kitchen screwed up most all 9 of our orders and drinks. The group consensus was to find another spot next time and delete this one.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
“HORRIBLE WAITERS”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2011

I came here for the first time with one of those groupon type deals and I guess so did all the other patrons. It took:

20 mins: Drink order
20 mins: Food order
15 mins: Food arrived
40 mins: Check, brought by a busboy

Apparently no one knew where the waiters were. The tables near me were annoyed also. Menu is very limited. Mimosas were refilled fairly quickly by the busboys.

  • Visited July 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Golconda, Illinois
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“"Great Brunch"!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2011

We had a brunch deal from online. It was honored and we had a great waiter and dined on the roof. Great atmosphere, plenty of shade, fans and natural breeze, exceptional service, even the doorman was cool and talkative. Water glass never got below 3/4 full...and the food was great too. Would recommend the Eggs & Chorizo. In all a great experience and we feel we got it at a bargain. Will go again and recommend to all.

  • Visited July 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Local 16 also viewed

 
Washington DC, DC
Washington DC, DC
 

Been to Local 16? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Local 16, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.