We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place and excellent service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Levantes

Levantes
1320 19th ST. NW, Washington DC, DC 20036 (Connecticut Ave/ K Street)
202-293-6301
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Levantes is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1,135 of 2,701 Restaurants in Washington DC
Price range: $18 - $20
Cuisines: Greek, Italian, Mediterranean, Middle Eastern, Turkish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Outdoor seating
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Connecticut Ave/ K Street
Description: The word "Levante" is derived from "Levantine" which describes the eastern Mediterranean coastal region that today includes: Turkey, Greece and extends into Lebanon and Israel. The era of the Ottoman Empire and Alexander the Great, past rulers of the Levante region, is now history, but the culinary and cultural traditions live on.The tastes and flavors of that golden age come alive at Levante's. All dishes are made in the Levante tradition using only fresh ingredients. For centuries, these qualities have allowed people of the Mediterranean to eat well and live long healthy lives. Today at Levante's diners can enjoy the variety, freshness and the natural health benefits of this legendary cuisine. Levante's is the first restaurant group to offer eastern Mediterranean cuisine in a casual dining environment. Natural stone and light wood interiors envelope guests. Open kitchens and wood-fired ovens produce charcoal - grilled meats and vegetables, which are prepared in full view of diners.
Dayton, OH
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Great place and excellent service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

We were down in the DuPont Circle area and decided to stop by Levantes. Wow, we were really impressed. The service was tremendous. Everyone was very friendly and accommodating. We enjoyed drinks and appetizers sitting outside. The dinner was delicious; they have a nice selection of Mediterranean foods on the menu. The atmosphere was great, being able to watch the people walk by. We were very comfortable and thoroughly pleased with the experience. No doubt, we will stop back again when we are in the area. If you are looking for a nice dinner, we would strongly suggest you try Levantes. If your experience is anything like ours, you will not be disappointed.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    26
    16
    9
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
334 reviews 334 reviews
224 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 97 cities Reviews in 97 cities
155 helpful votes 155 helpful votes
“Food and menu presentation could use some improvement”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

The restaurant is in a good location. The outdoor section, on a wide sidewalk with plants sectioning off the dining area is quite pleasant. The food is ok, however not outstanding (the beets in the beet salad were ovemarinated and very acidic). The Pides - boat shaped pizza - were quite good. Presentation could use some improvement - the salads had a lot of leaves that had very browned edges so did not look fresh, and the dessert menu, shown on a laminated sheet of paper, would have been fine except the laminate was old and scratched, not entirely clear, therefore doing a disservice to the pictures of the desserts, causing them to look unappetizing. I would have ordered dessert otherwise but lost my appetite after looking at the blurred pictures through this muddy plastic cover.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
176 reviews 176 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“If you love Mediterranean Food you will love this place.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2012

The service is prompt but the communication is a bit muddled. The server loosened up as the meal went and he was quite funny. The "Levente Cigars" (made with cheese, pine nuts, herbs wrapped in a phyllo and lightly fried) are amazing. We had just some sandwiches but they were amazing. The shepherd salad was classic Mediterranean

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro, North Carolina
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Great Sunday Brunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2012

Levente's is my favorite Sunday Brunch spot in DC. I have only been there for Sunday Brunch and therefore can not comment on the dinner or lunch menu.

Levente's offers a brunch buffet that includes fruit, pastries, dessert, Middle Eastern Salads and appetizer type food, eggs bennedict, made to order omlets and waffles as well as some other things. The bread they bring to the table is freshly baked and delicious.

The food is really good for a buffet style brunch but it is not the best Middle Eastern food in town.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Bay, Florida
Top Contributor
417 reviews 417 reviews
296 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 120 cities Reviews in 120 cities
171 helpful votes 171 helpful votes
“Good food, reasonable prices”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2012

My wife and I had dinner at Levante's this evening. We got there during happy hour. It was a bit too hot to eat outside. During happy hour you can also get food at reduced prices from a limited menu or you can order from the regular dinner menu. The bread they provide is outstanding and is not you regular pita bread. It is a thicker and more robust bread. We really enjoyed our food The meat was incredible. My only complaint is that the portions are relatively small. The service was good.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Levantes also viewed

Washington DC, DC
Washington DC, DC
 

Been to Levantes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Levantes, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.