We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place and excellent service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Levantes - CLOSED

1320 19th ST. NW, Washington DC, DC 20036 (Connecticut Ave/ K Street)
Improve this listing
Price range: $18 - $20
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Connecticut Ave/ K Street
Description: The word "Levante" is derived from "Levantine" which describes the eastern Mediterranean coastal region that today includes: Turkey, Greece and extends into Lebanon and Israel. The era of the Ottoman Empire and Alexander the Great, past rulers of the Levante region, is now history, but the culinary and cultural traditions live on.The tastes and flavors of that golden age come alive at Levante's. All dishes are made in the Levante tradition using only fresh ingredients. For centuries, these qualities have allowed people of the Mediterranean to eat well and live long healthy lives. Today at Levante's diners can enjoy the variety, freshness and the natural health benefits of this legendary cuisine. Levante's is the first restaurant group to offer eastern Mediterranean cuisine in a casual dining environment. Natural stone and light wood interiors envelope guests. Open kitchens and wood-fired ovens produce charcoal - grilled meats and vegetables, which are prepared in full view of diners.
Dayton, OH
Level Contributor
51 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great place and excellent service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

We were down in the DuPont Circle area and decided to stop by Levantes. Wow, we were really impressed. The service was tremendous. Everyone was very friendly and accommodating. We enjoyed drinks and appetizers sitting outside. The dinner was delicious; they have a nice selection of Mediterranean foods on the menu. The atmosphere was great, being able to watch the people walk by. We were very comfortable and thoroughly pleased with the experience. No doubt, we will stop back again when we are in the area. If you are looking for a nice dinner, we would strongly suggest you try Levantes. If your experience is anything like ours, you will not be disappointed.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
1 Thank C_and_B_Dayton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

73 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
Rating summary
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
373 reviews
248 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 207 helpful votes
“Food and menu presentation could use some improvement”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

The restaurant is in a good location. The outdoor section, on a wide sidewalk with plants sectioning off the dining area is quite pleasant. The food is ok, however not outstanding (the beets in the beet salad were ovemarinated and very acidic). The Pides - boat shaped pizza - were quite good. Presentation could use some improvement - the salads had a lot of leaves that had very browned edges so did not look fresh, and the dessert menu, shown on a laminated sheet of paper, would have been fine except the laminate was old and scratched, not entirely clear, therefore doing a disservice to the pictures of the desserts, causing them to look unappetizing. I would have ordered dessert otherwise but lost my appetite after looking at the blurred pictures through this muddy plastic cover.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Thank paxa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
185 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“If you love Mediterranean Food you will love this place.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2012

The service is prompt but the communication is a bit muddled. The server loosened up as the meal went and he was quite funny. The "Levente Cigars" (made with cheese, pine nuts, herbs wrapped in a phyllo and lightly fried) are amazing. We had just some sandwiches but they were amazing. The shepherd salad was classic Mediterranean

Visited June 2012
Thank BusLeis45458
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro, North Carolina
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great Sunday Brunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2012

Levente's is my favorite Sunday Brunch spot in DC. I have only been there for Sunday Brunch and therefore can not comment on the dinner or lunch menu.

Levente's offers a brunch buffet that includes fruit, pastries, dessert, Middle Eastern Salads and appetizer type food, eggs bennedict, made to order omlets and waffles as well as some other things. The bread they bring to the table is freshly baked and delicious.

The food is really good for a buffet style brunch but it is not the best Middle Eastern food in town.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Thank N00n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Bay, Florida
Level Contributor
543 reviews
390 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 208 helpful votes
“Good food, reasonable prices”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2012

My wife and I had dinner at Levante's this evening. We got there during happy hour. It was a bit too hot to eat outside. During happy hour you can also get food at reduced prices from a limited menu or you can order from the regular dinner menu. The bread they provide is outstanding and is not you regular pita bread. It is a thicker and more robust bread. We really enjoyed our food The meat was incredible. My only complaint is that the portions are relatively small. The service was good.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Thank JackofPBFL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Levantes also viewed


Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing