We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average and expensive” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Petits Plats

Petits Plats
2653 Connecticut Ave NW, Washington DC, DC 20008-1522 (Upper Northwest)
202-518-0018
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Petits Plats is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #42 of 2,768 Restaurants in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $20 - $35
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Families with children, Doing business, Romantic, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dessert, Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Upper Northwest
Cross street: Calvert St. and Woodley Rd.
Transit: across from red line metro stop (Woodley Park-Zoo-Adams Morgan)
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
185 reviews 185 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 84 cities Reviews in 84 cities
122 helpful votes 122 helpful votes
“Average and expensive”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

This restaurant was recommended to us but we thought it very overpriced for the quality of the food. It was the most expensive restaurant we visited while in the US. Meals cost between $20-$29. Entrees averaged $10 and desserts $8-12.
I personally quite enjoyed my seafood combination and creme brulee but I heard complaints from others about some of the food.
Service was quick and efficient. But the full 20% gratuity was added to the check without asking.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

193 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    98
    64
    19
    7
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Moline, Illinois
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Great Lamb Chops”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

This small cozy restaurant has always had great food and atmosphere. The owner is always nearby to ensure the food and service is excellent.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere, very good food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

I dont know about you but i am tired of noisy restaurants.It is a challenge finding a quiet place but that it is not empty from lack of customers.

Petits Plats is a cozy French bistro with a nice atmosphere and very good food.
In some of the rooms you feel that you are in the dinning room of your old aunt
I was very pleased with the food in this restaurant. I tried here one of the best steaks that i ever had. Appetizers were also terrific. It is conveniently located across the metro station

It is too bad that they don't have a larger patio.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“One of a handful of truly good restaurants in Woodley Park”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

This is a small French restaurant in Woodley Park. They offer standard French fare -- nothing too arch. It's popular with brunch diners and is nice to sit at outside during nice weather. One of the few places left where you can see French wines on the wine list, too. For dessert -- floating island.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbridge, Virginia
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Tough one to rate fairly”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

First, at its prices, using a paper spread over the table cloth is inexcusable. Second, the resturants simply puts a piece of paper under the bread so it cannot stay warm; if that were not enough to irritate, served in a cheap wire bakset. Third, the bread was nothing special! Fourth, my beef stew was way too salty--I left about 1/2. Fifth, the friendly waiter was slow, slow, slow. Given the foregoing, I'd rate the place a 1.5. However, my significant other had the onion soup and gives it 5 stars. She also would give the bowl of muscles 5 stars; she'd rate the french fries a 2.5.
So, if you like muscles and onion soup, give the place a try; otherwise, no!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Petits Plats also viewed

Washington DC, DC
Washington DC, DC
 
Washington DC, DC
 

Been to Petits Plats? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Petits Plats, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.