We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Management and Great Chef” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Poste Brasserie

Poste Brasserie
555 8th St. NE (D St. NW), Washington DC, DC 20002
202-783-6060
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Poste Brasserie is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #610 of 2,700 Restaurants in Washington DC
Price range: $15 - $50
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Outdoor seating
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: F Street
Transit: Metro – Gallery Place
Description: Poste will delight your senses with mouthwatering dishes and an award-winning wine list, in an atmosphere like nowhere else. Chef Dennis Marron serves up modern American Brasserie cuisine emphasizing fresh, local, and organic ingredients...even as local as our backyard! Whether you are enjoying a hand crafted cocktail on our outdoor patio, joining the happy hour crowd in our lively bar area, or cozying up in one of our booths on a winter evening, Poste is sure to have something to fit any occasion.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Good Management and Great Chef”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

Good service and food that you cannot complain about. Andrew Carlson and his staff are kind and good at their jobs of hospitality. Dennis Marron the Executive Chef has never served me a bad meal

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    53
    70
    54
    10
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Pacifica, California
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Pleasant meal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Joined friend and their two young boys for a relaxed evening meal. Children's grilled cheese sandwiches beautifully prepared and served with lightly cooked vegetables, a big improvement over the usual children's fare. My own mussels were less impressive by being a bit overcooked. Wine list by the glass was adequate but they were out if my first selection. Nonetheless, the friendly service made up for any shortcomings. Dining companion's steak frites looked good, as did his wife's tuna nicoise. But the root vegetables were the stars of the show!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“The place to be and be seen.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

Kimpton hotels pride themselves on quality service and Poste, is no exception. The servers and managers are very customer oriented. Our first visit was late on a Friday night. The restaurant was closed and just the bar was open. My wife and I had driven all afternoon to get to DC and were hungry and tired.....we wanted a drink and a quick bite to eat. Our waitress, Sarah, told the manager, Sean, and ten minutes later he brought us something to eat, not just a snack but a meal. We really appreciated that! And he didn't charge us for the food!
Thanks Sarah and Sean. Best service ever!!!!!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Easton, MD, USA
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
“Great restaurant in a great hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

Great food across the board. Try the fish dishes and cookie and jam tray for dessert! You always need a reservation. Service a little slow.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Den Haag
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Proven: the most delish specialty burger in the world!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013 via mobile

Ok, I have been here twice over the span of a year, the first time, I had the Onion soup Burger and frankly.... I dreamed about it for a whole year. I came back, finally! It is really just so good there are no words.
Having said that,never though I have never had any of their other food it all looks and smells amazing, it reminds me of nice French or Belgian restaurant the Steak Frits looks the most appealing... Only after yummy yummy mussels!!! But this burger just blows my mind soooooo if I were in a position to go to Poste every night I would probably get this burger... Every freeking day!

Mixed drinks are also very tantalizing and yummy!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Poste Brasserie also viewed

Washington DC, DC
 
Washington DC, DC
 

Been to Poste Brasserie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Poste Brasserie, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.