We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“finally” 5 of 5 stars
Review of National World War II Memorial

National World War II Memorial
17th Street NW, between Constitution and Independence Avenues, Washington DC, DC 20006 (National Mall)
202-426-6841
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Special Offer
$62*
and up
Washington DC in One Day: Guided Sightseeing Tour
Ranked #13 of 234 Attractions in Washington DC
Type: Monuments/ Statues, Landmarks
Activities: Biking, Canoeing, City walk sightseeing, Dining, Drinking, Golfing, Group tours/bus tour, Group tours/city tour, Group tours/walking tour, Hiking, Jogging, Kayaking, Motor-boating, Nightlife, People-watching, Running, Shopping, Swimming, Viewing wildlife, Walking
Attraction details
mt pleasant, wi
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
43 attraction reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“finally”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

It is really gratifying to see the WW2 vets visiting the memorial. They gave their all for this country. My daughter and I were at Reagan National waiting for our departing flight and an Honor Flight arrived. It was one of the most moving experiences to cheer the vets as they deplaned. Goose bumps.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,561 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,843
    518
    150
    35
    15
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Charlottetown, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“WOW”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

Its a beautiful tribute to our soldiers who gave their all so we could be free. It makes you reflect on life and has a real sense of peace at this monument

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ny
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A fitting tribute to the best generation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

The monument is simple yet an elegant tribute to the citizen solders. I was speechless as I wandered from the Pacific portal to the Atlantic. The over 4000 gold stars represent the over 400,000 casualties of the war. I know my father, A World War II infantryman, would have been been pleased with this memorial.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Historic and Iconic Structure”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

We passed by this structure on our way home late in the evening, this is a very good photo op as the lights surrounding the structure makes it very appealing to any camera buddy who wants to capture it, it's splendid and the fountain was really a cool feature in this attraction.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North English, Iowa
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Monumental”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

Upon walking into the memorial for the first time. we were struct by the massive structure and the "coldness" of all the stone and fountains. That caused us to talk about the European and Pacific fronts, how bodies of water were key to invasions...and all who perished...a massive, world war. Our father was a soldier in the war for three years. Seeing veterans there in wheelchairs reminded us of the fleeting days when they would still be among us.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed National World War II Memorial also viewed

 

Been to National World War II Memorial? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage National World War II Memorial, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.