We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best at Night” 5 of 5 stars
Review of National World War II Memorial

National World War II Memorial
17th Street NW, between Constitution and Independence Avenues, Washington DC, DC 20006 (National Mall)
202-426-6841
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Special Offer
$62*
and up
Washington DC in One Day: Guided Sightseeing Tour
Ranked #13 of 234 Attractions in Washington DC
Type: Monuments/ Statues, Landmarks
Activities: Biking, Canoeing, City walk sightseeing, Dining, Drinking, Golfing, Group tours/bus tour, Group tours/city tour, Group tours/walking tour, Hiking, Jogging, Kayaking, Motor-boating, Nightlife, People-watching, Running, Shopping, Swimming, Viewing wildlife, Walking
Attraction details
Reston, Virginia
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
29 attraction reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Best at Night”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2011

This monument is beautiful at all times, but at night it sets the mood for beauty, respect, and honor. This monument is perfect and is a must see. It provides the reflection of our efforts both in the Atlantic and Pacific. It has great views of the Washington and Lincoln Memorials. One of the best.

Visited November 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,570 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,849
    519
    151
    35
    16
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Naples, Florida
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 attraction reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“High Price for The Freedoms We Enjoy Today”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2011

Price of freedom is not free. A very moving reminder of those who step up and did what was right in a dark period of human history. Let us never forget

Visited November 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Proud of My Heritage!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2011

Wow-no words to describe beauty of monument and what it symbolizes for the nation.

Visited November 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Paz, Bolivia
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
21 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Very peaceful place.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2011

Do not miss visiting this memorial, and if you happen to see a veteran, please greet him, they deserve our respect

Visited November 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver Spring, Maryland
Top Contributor
175 reviews 175 reviews
43 attraction reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2011

I was prepared to see this memorial as bland and uninteresting but was pleasantly surprised. My great uncle died in the Pacific, my grandfather and father served in Europe and I think they would all be pleased. It is very simple, even understated but I found it compelling. My suspicion is that the "Greatest Generation" would consider it and tasteful. It does not take much time but it's worth the visit.

Visited June 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed National World War II Memorial also viewed

 

Been to National World War II Memorial? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage National World War II Memorial, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.