We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food and a nice atmosphere” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Tombs

The Tombs
1226 36th St NW, Washington DC, DC 20007-2627 (Georgetown)
+1 202-337-6668
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #493 of 2,709 Restaurants in Washington DC
Price range: $8 - $20
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Bar, Sandwiches
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: Georgetown
Description: Situated on the edge of Georgetown University's campus, The Tombs is a neighborhood restaurant by day and a popular gathering place for Georgetown students by night. Along with 1789 and F. Scott's, The Tombs rounds out a trio of restaurants built in a Federal-style townhouse dating from the mid-1800s. When Georgetown alumnus Richard McCooey founded The Tombs in 1962, he named it after a mention in T.S. Eliot's poem "Bustopher Jones: The Cat About Town." Whether it's students watching a Hoya basketball game, Georgetown alumni sharing a pitcher of lager or neighbors enjoying Sunday brunch after visiting Holy Trinity Church, The Tombs traditions run deep.
Buffalo, New York
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great food and a nice atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

The Tombs is located right in the heart of Georgetown. Many places will claim it as a "college restaurant" and while clearly that's the locale, I think anyone would find this a great, fun place to eat. The atmosphere, as many others have pointed out, is what it's all about. But the food is also great! I tried the Hoya salad (which is basically a salad served on a pizza crust). Delicious. Go for dinner and then wait in line at Georgetown Cupcake for dessert!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    55
    20
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Orleans, Louisiana
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“I laughed out loud at someone's St. Elmo's reference...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

...but only because it's a great (80's) comparison. Definitely more about the atmosphere than the food - but the food is great just the same! A must-dine for those lovers of all-things-Georgetown!

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“OK food, slow service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2014

Came during lunch, and though it seemed there was plenty of waitstaff, the service was very slow, fries were past cold when the ketchup came. The milkshakes were excellent, very sweet. Waited 45 min for a burger and a salad. Serving sizes small, asked for bread that never came.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“DC classic”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2014

Fun Georgetown hangout. Wish the menu offered more for brunch. Go early or you will wait! Wait staff was very friendly and helpful.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunedin, Florida, United States
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“College flashback!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014

We needed to kill some time waiting for the rest of our large group to finish their activities in the area and simply asked a small group of students near campus to recommend a "pub." They told us we "had to go" to The Tombs, which was right around the corner from where we needed to meet our group. The beer was cold, the bartender was friendly and attentive (she served me a drink with Blue Moon, Grand Marnier, and St. Germain's - OMG delicious). We watched college basketball surrounded by college kids, noshed on yummy wings and nachos, and had a generally great time. Some members of our group even went back for burgers and said they enjoyed tasty "bar burgers." You are in the basement, so not for the claustrophobic!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Tombs also viewed

 
Washington DC, DC
Washington DC, DC
 

Been to The Tombs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Tombs, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.