We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Reunion with an old friend” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bread & Chocolate - M St. NW

Bread & Chocolate - M St. NW
2301 M St. NW, Washington DC, DC 20037 (Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End)
202-833-8360
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #378 of 2,709 Restaurants in Washington DC
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: Bakery
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Outdoor seating
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Neighborhood: Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Needham MA
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Reunion with an old friend”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

I lived in Washington years ago, and Bread and Chocolate was a favorite then. It still delivers. The place is cheerful and well staffed. The pastries are quite good, although a tad dry. We had breakfast, and enjoyed several menu items all of which came with a little fresh fruit cup. Very nice. As with everything in DC it seemed a bit on the expensive side, but I didn't mind because the meal delivered.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    52
    56
    29
    6
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Salisbury, MD
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Yummy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

While they could use a children's menu, the food was excellent and reasonably priced for D.C. Had French toast and nutella filled crepes. Friend had a hot oatmeal cereal that looked fantastic.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mammoth Lakes, California, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Good food great atmosphere.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

My 10 year son and I ate here on are 1st morning in DC. The portions were large and the Moca and hot chocolate were excellent, I give it 5 stars for value and ambiance / service but some of the food was on the average side. I would definitely go back. 2 minute walk from the Park Hyatt.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great breakfast, reasonable prices”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

We had breakfast here on two occasions as it was close to our hotel (Fairmont). The service was efficient and very friendly. The lattes are particularly delicious. We chose fruit salads, yoghurt with honey and walnuts and a selection of pastries from the counter and all were great.We would recommend the apple danish! Very, very busy on Sunday morning with locals having brunch.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Worth the cab fair!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

We were on a time crunch and thank goodness the service was good and timely. We had the French toast, salmon plate and the salmon Benedict. It was all very well prepared. The coffee was very weak and I would recommend going with a specialty coffee or have some juice. We felt they were very reasonably priced. It is worth the walk or cab ride. The pastries in the case looked fantastic.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bread & Chocolate - M St. NW also viewed

Washington DC, DC
Washington DC, DC
 

Been to Bread & Chocolate - M St. NW? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bread & Chocolate - M St. NW, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.