We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great insight” 5 of 5 stars
Review of National Museum of the American Indian

National Museum of the American Indian
National Mall, 4th St. and Independence Ave., S.W., Washington DC, DC 20013 (National Mall)
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #90 of 471 things to do in Washington DC
Activities: Group tours/walking tour
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: The National Museum of the American Indian houses artifacts, art, historical and cultural objects from Native Indian communities in the Hemisphere.
Wigtown, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“A great insight”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

We were recommended to this museum and weren't disappointed.
They tell a lot of stories about the various tribes highlighting the various cultures which was very entertaining and educational.
The native indian food hall is an absolute must for anyone in the area.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

892 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    347
    247
    170
    89
    39
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Yorkshire
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
21 attraction reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“This is great! At last! - thoughtful and important.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

The opening presentation in the foyer, that we were very fortunate to walk into, was so good - straight away we learnt about authentic drumming and rhythms, The Directions and much else. The museum took ten years, at least, to plan and is brilliant at interpreting the very long and painful story of the American Indian peoples. We joined a 'Highlights Tour' which was a great way of having an introduction to what the museum offers. (The guide also gave us so many personal insights as a part Cherokee woman.)
A terrific building - all curves and warm stone. What a contrast to the marble classicism of familiar Washington buildings. I am really hoping for another visit. (And of course the lunch was lovely!)

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, Wisconsin
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Eat lunch here!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

Worth visiting if you don't have a similar museum in your home state. The lunch was amazing! We split cilantro rice with beef, roasted root vegetables, and the best sweet potatoe salad I have ever tasted!

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Top Contributor
683 reviews 683 reviews
349 attraction reviews
Reviews in 114 cities Reviews in 114 cities
1,317 helpful votes 1,317 helpful votes
“Great architecture”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

The National Museum of the American Indian which is part of the Smithsonian complex of museum sit's in the National Mall and is a short walk from Capitol Hill. I really liked the external shape of the museum which is unique. I was somewhat disappointed by the content of the museum itself which does not grab you in the same way as some of the other museums do. This surprised me as the history of the American indian is a fascinating subject.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakton, Virginia
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
28 attraction reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Very Interesting but confusing.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

I appreciate the education about the variety of indigenous Indians throughout the Americas and the opportunity to learn from their history. A geographical reference as I was walking from exhibit to exhibit would have helped me because it wasn't always obvious where each different cultural group was located, my group found it confusing. I think what I took away is there are a lot more unique Indian tribes with different languages, belief systems and cultures located in different areas of the Americas than I realized, and there is not much if any interconnectivity between them.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed National Museum of the American Indian also viewed

 

Been to National Museum of the American Indian? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage National Museum of the American Indian, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.