We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“best eggs benedict on the planet” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Martin's Tavern

Martin's Tavern
1264 Wisconsin Ave. NW, Washington DC, DC 20007-3238 (Georgetown)
202-333-7370
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #213 of 2,562 Restaurants in Washington DC
Price range: $24 - $24
Cuisines: American, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Drinks, Breakfast, Brunch, Reservations
Neighborhood: Georgetown
Description: At Martin's Tavern, every sitting president from Truman to G.W. Bush has dined. Ask your server to point out the booth where JFK proposed to Jackie.
Culpeper, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
55 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“best eggs benedict on the planet”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

best eggs benedict.. always perfect.. great hollandaise, eggs done perfect.. perfect salty Virginia ham instead of Canadian bacon...

love this place every visit.. a DC icon

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

456 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    159
    200
    65
    20
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Charleston, Missouri
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Loved the history”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2014

When visiting D.C. our purpose was to instill pride in our country and history in our teenagers. We arrived at Georgetown right during the busy lunch hour and went into Martins, we had no reservation but they were very gracious and worked us in. The staff was friendly and the atmosphere was very electrifying. The food was great and we sat in the Richard Nixon booth loved it all.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayton, Ohio
Level Contributor
90 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Fabulous Breakfast or Brunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

We visit our daughter in DC several times a year. We always go to Martins Tavern for pumpkin pancakes in the Fall and just the best Bloody Mary's!
Great atmosphere in Gtown!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Stable Landmark in Georgetown”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

For a brunch on Sunday morning, it is good that our party had reservations. It was crowded and stayed that way throughout out meal. Good selection of tasty food for special breakfasts or a filling lunch. Bloody Mary's are well prepared! Service is efficient without being overly pushy. It is crowded with tight accommodations. Can't go wrong here.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
114 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Very atmospheric and the food was great”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014 via mobile

I really took to this restaurant and the food was great. If you enjoy seafood, the crab cakes - a house speciality - were certainly a hit with me! And the scallops, whilst not cheap, were lovely and were beautifully cooked. It's an atmospheric place and was rammed at 7pm on a cold Monday in February. I can see why. It's a tad touristy, but none the less the service is good and the food is lovely so, other than the fact it's a bit pricier than other places perhaps, it's hard to see what's not to like.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Martin's Tavern also viewed

 
Washington DC, DC
Washington DC, DC
 

Been to Martin's Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Martin's Tavern, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.