We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent place in Georgetown” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Martin's Tavern

Martin's Tavern
1264 Wisconsin Ave. NW, Washington DC, DC 20007-3238 (Georgetown)
202-333-7370
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #271 of 2,623 restaurants in Washington DC
Price range: $24 - $24
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: Georgetown
Description: At Martin's Tavern, every sitting president from Truman to G.W. Bush has dined. Ask your server to point out the booth where JFK proposed to Jackie.
Senlis
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Excellent place in Georgetown”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

Crab cakes and angus steaks are excellent. Efficient staff and fast service. A pity that the room is too small and a bit crowdy and noisy. I recommend.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

300 reviews from our community

79% Recommend
    96
    141
    42
    14
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
sao paulo, brazil
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“Great restaurant in Georgetown”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

We had lunch at this restaurant after a day visiting Georgetown. The meal was excellent, we ordered the meatloaf (delicious!), onion soup, crab cakes and a steak. We sat at he the JFK booth, the exact place where he proposed to jackie, so also very interesting. The staff was really nice, and it was not expensive, so I definitely recommend it! Five stars.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Nice Place with Okay Food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

This place is nice and in a nice location. We ate on a busy Friday evening. The staff was friendly and helpful, but the food was only 'okay.' I had the meatloaf and my wife had the Yankee pot roast. The quality was a little below Cracker Barrel or Bob Evans.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Old favorite still good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

I used to eat at Martin's often when I worked in Georgetown some years ago. On a recent return visit to Washington, I had lunch there with my husband. We were pleased to find that the atmosphere hadn't changed. The crab cakes were still excellent and the fries and coleslaw were updated and better than before. Service was attentive and good. It was great to be back and we look forward to a return visit next time we're in town.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Longmont, Colorado
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Neat place, ok food ”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

Yes, we enjoyed our meal. But the actual food was just all right. If I went again, I would stick to a burger or try a steak. For the price, I didn't think the crab cakes were that fabulous. I do understand the feel of history and nostalgia, but I'm sure there has to be better platters of food in the area. I hear brunch is great.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Martin's Tavern also viewed

Washington DC, DC
Washington DC, DC
 
Washington DC, DC
Washington DC, DC
 

Been to Martin's Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Martin's Tavern, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.