We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food, service, atmosphere” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Martin's Tavern

Martin's Tavern
1264 Wisconsin Ave. NW, Washington DC, DC 20007-3238 (Georgetown)
202-333-7370
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #222 of 2,558 Restaurants in Washington DC
Price range: $24 - $24
Cuisines: American, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, Dinner, Lunch, Drinks, Reservations
Neighborhood: Georgetown
Description: At Martin's Tavern, every sitting president from Truman to G.W. Bush has dined. Ask your server to point out the booth where JFK proposed to Jackie.
Markham, Canada
Level Contributor
49 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Good food, service, atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

We would definitely have dinner or lunch here again. It has an established charm with lots of old wood, a bit of history and rumour ... and the food and the service are excellent. The waiter was friendly, the fish and chips were among the best we've had, the beer was cold and the music was well chosen and low enough to allow conversation. What more could you ask?

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

453 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    158
    198
    65
    20
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
173 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“Did JFK propose to Jackie here?”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

Rumor (one of many) has it that JFK proposed to Jaqueline Bouvier here. We sat in the booth where the proposal allegedly happened.... True or not, Martin's was great. Totally old school kind of place. The meatloaf was scrumptious.... as was the baked potato. Was a fun night and good food.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level Contributor
864 reviews
703 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 264 helpful votes
“good place for a casual meal in Georgetown”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

We had been touring DC and wanted a place in Georgetown for a casual dinner that was close to our hotel. This fit the bill perfectly. Great college bar ambience. Cocktails were delicious. Service was great. The Brunswick Stew was wonderful - just as I remembered it as a child. My crab cake did have some small amount of filler, but that was forgiven as the taste was good and it had large clumps of blue crab meat. A warm and tasty stop on a cold evening.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AGS
Level Contributor
42 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Impressive !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

I had dinner with my friend, and was very pleasantly surprised. The selection of food was enticing, quality was fantastic, service excellent, ambience very old worldly, all-in-all well worth the trip to Georgetown.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Level Contributor
34 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Great Tavern”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

Made reservations online for lunch due to some of the reviews I read, but no need. We arrived at 11:45 and there was plenty of seating. We sat in the "dugout" section....awesome little corner of the restaurant....nice and quiet. We loved this place! The food was great, the service was terrific and the food came out extra fast! I had the Turkey Ruben (probably the best I've ever had) and my husband had the shepherds pie. We enjoyed both.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Martin's Tavern also viewed

 
Washington DC, DC
Washington DC, DC
 

Been to Martin's Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Martin's Tavern, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.