We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Interesting place in the Eastern Market” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tortilla Cafe

Tortilla Cafe
210 7th St SE, Ste 100, Washington DC, DC 20003-4300 (Capitol Hill)
202-547-5700
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #135 of 2,563 Restaurants in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $15
Cuisines: Mexican, Latin, Spanish, Salvadoran, South American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner
Neighborhood: Capitol Hill
Norwalk, Iowa, United States
Level Contributor
96 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Interesting place in the Eastern Market”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

I had one of their specialties and really enjoyed. I can't remember what it is called but it's kind of a stuffed tortilla with cheese and pork. My wife had a chicken wrap and it was so so. The chicken was pretty dry.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    68
    49
    13
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Little Rock, Arkansas
Level Contributor
50 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great food and in a great area”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

We were turned on to this place by the food network; it is a great "diner/dive". We had the pupusa platter, chicken tamale, and seafood tacos.

We liked the pupusa's but I don't have anything to compare to. The tamale, was one of the best we have had anywhere. The masa was lite and didn't overwhelm the spices or flavor. The taco's were simple but good; All of that for $20.... can't beat it.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
46 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Delicious food, excellent prices”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

We were visiting Eastern Market and having previously seen this on Diners, Drive-ins and Dives we thought we'd give it a go. And it was really worth it. The food was excellent, the prices were super cheap and the staff were very welcoming. If we lived locally, we would visit regularly. And we hope to visit on our next trip to the area to try out the Salvadorean menu the next time.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great Food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

Went to Tortilla Cafe on a recent trip to D.C. after seeing it highlighted on an episode of Diners, Drive Ins and Dives. If you like Mexican and/or Salvadoran food and want a delicious meal that won't bust your budget you have to stop here.
I ordered the Chicken Burrito platter and it was honestly the best burrito I've ever had, by far. I also had a side of plantains which were top notch. Since I was there I had to try a pork and cheese pupusa for the first time and I was not disappointed. Get one as an appetizer or a side or platter-just try it! My wife ordered the shrimp fajitas and she is still raving about it.
Its all about great food at great prices away from the downtown tourist traps.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Great Restaurant!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

I found this place on Yelp and decided to seek it out. It's a little hole-in-the wall in a neighborhood you probably wouldn't know existed if you're a tourist. It's kind of unassuming, but the food is delicious. I definitely recommend this place if you're looking for a place to eat in DC.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tortilla Cafe also viewed

 
Washington DC, DC
 

Been to Tortilla Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tortilla Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.