We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Legitimately Authentic Pizza” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Two Amys

Two Amys
3715 Macomb St NW, Lowr, Washington DC, DC 20016-3869
202-885-5700
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #101 of 2,563 Restaurants in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $15
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
51 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Legitimately Authentic Pizza”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

Since moving to DC a year and a half ago, I've been to 2Amy's about ten times. I think that's a sufficient sample size from which I can draw some solid conclusions. The pizza is legitimately Neapolitan, and the story of their method/authenticity is printed on the back of the menu. The crust is the best pizza crust I've ever tasted. This is a result of their ingredients and wood-fire ovens. The cheese and toppings are delicious as well, but not to the same mind-blowing extent as the crust. A pizza will generally cost about $13, and if you are hungry you will eat the whole thing. If you're really hungry you might want a bit more food. If you aren't that hungry and have a light eating companion, you can get away with splitting one. My wife and I usually order a prosciutto and mushroom combo, but everything is good. The stuffed pizzas are also very good, and massive (the pesto one is surprisingly good). The service is fine, and once you get a table you usually get your food pretty quickly. However, it's always busy, and if the weather is nice you can generally expect a small wait.
I go with a four instead of a five star rating because I'm a bigger fan of higher volume pizza consumption. If they cut two bucks off the price of all the pizzas, it would be a 5! All in all I don't see a reason you shouldn't give 2Amy's a try.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

351 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    159
    122
    41
    18
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
34 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Yum”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012 via mobile

This was some good food. We started the evening at the bar as we waited for our table. Originally we had no plans to order anything other than pizza. However, due to our vantage point in the bar, we were in full view of the antipasto... So we tried several things including Gorgonzola with chestnut honey and celery root cooked with oranges. All delicious and unique. By the time we got to the table, we weren't that hungry anymore. But, we went ahead and got a margherita pizza with prosciutto and we didn't regret it. Decor is basic, service prompt. Definitely has a neighborhood feel. Very noisy! We'll def be back next time we are in DC.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver Spring, Maryland
Level Contributor
338 reviews
220 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Less than Impressed”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

People rave about 2 Amy's.
Is it because it's chique or because of the area or the food?
Not sure.... but I was less than impressed

I had been there ages ago -- and thought it was ok, but was less than impressed this time.
Service wasn't anything special during lunch.
Food was decent, but again - nothing special.
Prices aren't that great either and there are more than enough pizza joints in town to patronize.

Location: Good
Food: Average
Service: Average
Prices: $$
Parking: Street
Restrooms: N/A


Whoever said the pizza was better than in Napoli is kidding themselves.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Level Contributor
61 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Authentic Italian pizza, good value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

Whenever we visit our friends in DC, we make the trip to 2Amys. As always, well worth the trip. Great appetizers, particularly the arancini, nice arugula salad, and our pizza choices (Norcia, Etna, Margherita Extra and Santa Brigida) all impressed. One of the best Margherita style pizzas we have had recently. Not quiet, but a great local spot. We always look forward to coming back.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chevy Chase, MD
Level Contributor
26 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Besta Pizza around!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

Crisp crust. Flavorful toppings. Even though the line is usually out the door to pick up food or get a table but it's worth the wait.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Two Amys also viewed

 

Been to Two Amys? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Two Amys, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.