We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A dinner to remember.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Johnny's Half Shell

Johnny's Half Shell
400 N Capitol St NW, Washington DC, DC 20001 (National Mall)
+1 202-296-2021
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Johnny's Half Shell is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #293 of 2,768 Restaurants in Washington DC
Price range: $20 - $25
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: National Mall
Cross street: between E Street and Louisana Ave.
Transit: Union Station on the Metro Red Line. Walk across Massachussette right onto E street turn lelf on North Capitol. We are next to Wells Fargo Bank.
Description: Johnny's Half Shell is a highly acclaimed seafood restaurant in Washington DC located near Capitol Hill and Union Station. Ann Cashion, a James Beard award winning chef, uses organic produce, poultry, meat, and sustainable seafood to create memorable renditions of Chesapeake and Gulf Coast dishes. Pair the flavorful food with an amazing outdoor dining terrace, breathtaking views of the US Capitol and a vibrant happy hour and you have found your new favorite Washington DC restaurant!
East Brunswick, New Jersey
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
“A dinner to remember.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

It was recommended to us by the concierge. We had our dinner at this lovely restaurant while staying at the Hyatt capitol hill, DC. We had the fritto misto and a halibat meals and they were both delicious, however pricey. It was a good atmosphere. We were very well taken care of and we will come back again.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

187 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    59
    66
    43
    12
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Iowa
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Great Seafood-Superior Service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

My husband and I stayed at a nearby hotel and the concierge recommended Johnny's when we asked for a suggestions for a seafood restaurant. We are from the Midwest and always want to enjoy fresh seafood when visiting the coasts. Johnny's was very good. We loved the atmosphere; it takes you back to a time when going out for dinner was truly a special occasion. Our waiter, Armando, was truly a professional, and was one of the best waiters I have had. Our charbroiled Chesapeake oysters with asiago cheese appetizer was fresh and delicious. My crabcakes were very good with nice lumps of crab and perfect blend of seasonings without a lot of filler. I ordered them fried, but they are also offered broiled. Not a miss anywhere in the food or the service. They also had a very nice wine selection. I would recommend to anyone visiting the area.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Top Contributor
254 reviews 254 reviews
145 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
169 helpful votes 169 helpful votes
“Excellent seafood in a prime location!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

In a city with somewhat limited seafood options (for a New Englander!), this place is an excellent option for a somewhat upscale yet reasonably priced meal, inside or out. Dinner menu has a good selection of appetizers and main courses and there are a couple of options (chicken, beef) for those who prefer meat. The wine options are great. Should you wish appetizers and drinks at the bar, there is a good and very reasonably priced selection (for DC). This restaurant is a few minutes's walk (with lights) from Union Station and a great choice if you are on this side of the Hill. Service was great and friendly. A very nice dessert menu. No complaints all the way around. While it was a bit hot to eat on the terrace, there is a nice outside seating area. Good choice for many different hungry folks all the way around. Highly recommended.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“WOW!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

If you are in the area and looking for a terrific place to eat - go to this place. The service is impeccable, the food is outstanding, and the wine list is impressive. The prices are reasonable for the quality, but not cheap. Definitely worth every penny.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bowling Green, Kentucky
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Way too expensive”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

A very average meal for 2 adults and 2 kids was $110.00. Super small portion of fried calamari was tasty but entrees were less impressive.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Johnny's Half Shell also viewed

 

Been to Johnny's Half Shell? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Johnny's Half Shell, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.