We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable bistro” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bistro Bis

Bistro Bis
15 E St NW, Washington DC, DC 20001 (Downtown / Chinatown)
+1 202-661-2700
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Bistro Bis is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #79 of 2,562 Restaurants in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $12 - $50
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Neighborhood: Downtown / Chinatown
Cross street: New Jersey & North Capitol
Transit: Union Station
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Enjoyable bistro”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

Great bistro with interesting food. Nice ambience , warm welcome, relaxing with helpful, non obtrusive service. Good wine list, great French onion soup on a cold , cold night. Excellent fish mains and unusual desserts..their version of tarte tatin. And fromage blanc mousse.
Highly recommend.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

539 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    287
    174
    51
    20
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A good eat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

Somewhat pricey when stranded. Nice selection for the first couple of days. Congenial clientele. Bartenders friendly and know their stuff.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Acton, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
314 reviews
190 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
“Great meal near Union Station”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

It is getting harder to be innovative these days but bistro bis did that. Had carpaccio corned beef tongue appetizer which were paper thin slices beautifully presented and served. Then roasted poulet with prunes. The chicken pieces had been flattened and were mouth watering. They also have conventional items on the menu if one is not feeling adventurous such as moules and steak frites. I tasted my friend's mussels were perfectly cooked. It is quite expensive but certainly delivered and left us very satisfied customers.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
261 reviews
188 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
“Feel the pulse of DC here!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012 via mobile

I'm visiting from California and met my sister here for drinks after she got off work on Capitol Hill. Glad I arrived early (4:55) for two reasons. First, the bar area filled up quickly. No seats by 5:45. Second, I was able to people watch and listen without interruption. Two policy wonks next to me chattering. An LGBT debate on the other side of me. Super interesting. Then a senator and former presidential candidate came in with secret service and a VIP guest from another country.... Definitely felt like I was at THE place to be. Drinks are pricey, as expected. Maitre d was as smooth as they come (in a good way). A really great DC experience.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
2 reviews
“Bistro Bis”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

Loved the trout and had their apple torte with vanilla ice cream - YUM! Choice of wine - La Crema from Sonoma......ANOTHER amazing trip to DC!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bistro Bis also viewed

 
Washington DC, DC
Washington DC, DC
 

Been to Bistro Bis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bistro Bis, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.