We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Only a few blocks” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Chinatown

Chinatown
Bounded by G, H, 5th, and 8th Sts., Washington DC, DC (Downtown / Chinatown)
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Special Offer
$78*
and up
Washington DC Super Saver: Hop-on Hop-off Trolley...
Ranked #209 of 484 things to do in Washington DC
Attraction details
Omaha, Nebraska
Level Contributor
1,098 reviews
838 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 364 helpful votes
“Only a few blocks”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2014

It seems to me this area is too small to even call a Chinatown. After seeing other areas this one left me wanting.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

255 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    77
    84
    44
    22
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Skip it ”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2014

Food there wasn't very authentic. Lots of fusion crap catered for tourists and locals that don't know much better. I don't know how edamame became apart of Chinese cuisine.

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miramar
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Nothing there”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

Chinatown was extremely boring! There was a souvenir shop that was the high point of the visit to Chinatown. Other than that, it didn't have much to offer. Regular shops and stores like Starbucks and Bed, Bath and Beyond with writing in Chinese.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
101 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014 via mobile

Have been to Chinatown in New York and San Francisco. Due to these experiences I had higher expectations. Honestly not much to visit. Would not go out of my way again.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vadnais Heights, Minnesota
Level Contributor
193 reviews
123 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Not much to Chinatown”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

We were expecting more. There are a few restaurants and a gateway but that was about all we found. It was busy, especially on Saturday night, and people watching was entertaining.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chinatown also viewed

 

Been to Chinatown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chinatown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.