We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth it!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Zaytinya

Zaytinya
701 9th St NW, Edison Place, Washington DC, DC 20001-4572 (Downtown / Chinatown)
+1 202-638-0800
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Zaytinya is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #4 of 2,563 Restaurants in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $32
Cuisines: Lebanese, Mediterranean, European, Turkish, Greek, Middle Eastern
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Doing business, Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Downtown / Chinatown
Cross street: G St.
Transit: Gallery Place/Chinatown station. 9 th & G St exit on the red, green and yellow lines.
Description: Zaytinya offers an innovative mezze menu inspired by Turkish, Greek and Lebanese cuisines, under the direction of renowned chef José Andrés, served up in a sleek and modern setting. Shared small plates, creative cocktails and unique Mediterranean wines make this spot one of DC’s top dining destinations.
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Worth it!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013 via mobile

Completely blown away by this place. We came in late and they sat us anyways. They carry my favorite Greek beer, Mythos, which was a great surprise! The octopus was freaking amazing and I was skeptical ordering it at first. The hot Peta brea was so good. But the service is was made the experience great.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,286 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,361
    684
    177
    54
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Falls Church, Virginia
Level Contributor
151 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Yum”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

Delicious food and a very posh atmosphere. Small plates and Mediterranean food. Chinatown location is good for pre or post bites and drinks for a visit to Verizon center. Always busy

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY, NY
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“great place for groups”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

Picked this place for a work-related group dinner. The restaurant was very accommodating, even when we changed the # of guests last minute. The food was delicious and perfect for a group, and the space was welcoming. We enjoyed being seated at a large table that was situated by itself one level up on the stair. Highly recommend!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Quality of food saved this place!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I came here for lunch. First, let me say that the lunch special is absolutely fantastic and for the quality of the food, reasonably priced at 25 dollars for 4 courses. Favorites: the shrimp as a second course, the spanakopita and the fresh pitas!!

The service was terrible. We had a slightly irritated waiter taking our order, passing off our table to someone else (who we only had contact w about 2-3 more times the entire time because of the food runner bringing out our meal) and there were only 5 other visible tables. It took forever to ask a question, get a refill on water, order a beer... No excuse!

I'm guessing the service may be a fluke but the food was fab. Overall, I'll be back for sure for the awesome lunch deal.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SC
Level Contributor
86 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“fantastic experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

Great and delicious meal. we did not have great expectations because I am not a big fan of some of the staple dishes of the greek and turkish food but we had great recommendations to this particular restaurant. I changed my opinion. It was amazing. the lamb and roasted cauliflower were incredible. Love the bread. Plus the restaurant is absolutely beautiful and the service was outstanding. A must try while in DC

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Zaytinya also viewed

Washington DC, DC
Washington DC, DC
 

Been to Zaytinya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Zaytinya, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.