We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Little Different (for me)/Enjoyable” 4 of 5 stars
Review of R.F.D. Washington

R.F.D. Washington
810 Seventh Street NW, Washington DC, DC (Downtown / Chinatown)
202.289.2030
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #820 of 2,768 Restaurants in Washington DC
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Downtown / Chinatown
Damascus, Maryland
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“A Little Different (for me)/Enjoyable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

Not really a beer person, so this speaks to how well rounded the menu choices where. I decided to give them a try anyhow. GRRReat food! Well prepared. Been a chef for 16 years now so that's high praise. I really enjoyed the freshness of the crab cakes. NOT and I do say not loaded with a bunch of junk/filler. Simple and clean appetizer. I will be back, maybe invite a good friend who does drink and love beer. Noticed they have a varied and wide selection of brews. Service was great also. I love it when you have someone who really knows the chef's preparations and can speak well of them!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    46
    28
    13
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
East Midlands, UK
Top Contributor
134 reviews 134 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
284 helpful votes 284 helpful votes
“Good food with very good drink”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

Stopped off here for a late night beer or 2 and again for lunch and another good beer or 2. The barman was enthusiastic with a good knowledge of the draft and extensive bottled beer collections. The range of beers was excellent and well served. The food was good if not exceptional but with nothing in particular to criticise. Head here for the beer and something to eat as opposed to heading here specifically for the food.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocean City, Maryland
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“short on time they hit it out of the park”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

had to go here to eat because the hotel had no options. was pleasantly surprised. we told them from the start we needed to be out of there quickly and they accommodated. food was great and the servers were attentive! will go back.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Too noisy”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

The place has a great list of beers but the atmosphere is rough and way too noisy to want to linger long.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toledo, OH
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Nice lunch spot.....”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013 via mobile

Went with a group of people for lunch. Wait staff was attentive, beer was great, but food was average. I would go again if back in DC and needed a dependable bite to eat and a good beer.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed R.F.D. Washington also viewed

 

Been to R.F.D. Washington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage R.F.D. Washington, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.