We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nam-Viet” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Nam-Viet Pho 79

Nam-Viet Pho 79
3419 Connecticut Ave., NW, Washington DC, DC 20008 (Upper Northwest)
202.237.1015
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #828 of 2,558 Restaurants in Washington DC
Price range: $20 - $20
Cuisines: Asian, Vietnamese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner
Neighborhood: Upper Northwest
Altoona, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Nam-Viet”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

Nam-Viet is located between the Cleveland Park Metro Station and the National Zoo. It is very convenient to finish your day at after visiting the zoo. The serving sizes were very large and reasonable priced. We were able to be seated right away and our food came promptly.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    25
    7
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC
Level Contributor
107 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“So good it almost mitigated power outage.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2012

We've lived in Washington DC for 15 years and tonight we were reminded of why we love Nam-Viet. A massive power outage made us cry uncle and sent us running to the Marriott Wardman Park (see separate review under Hotels). Even though there are a slew of hotels around the corner from the hotel, we got in the car and drove the half mile to Nam Viet. It did not disappoint. Nam Viet is not a fancy restaurant, but its recent facelift -- new paint, better more subdued lighting -- helps a lot. The location is perfect for visitors: one block from the Cleveland Park metro stop on the Red Line, and walking distance from the National Zoo. There is limited parking but if you get lucky (we did, yay, since I had a hip replacement 17 days ago), you can snag a parking space in the double line of spots. Park after 6:30 and it's free.
The food is fantastic: it is fresh, savory, and perfectly dressed. Although Nam Viet has raised its prices, so what? So has everyone else. For $66 plus tip, we had a huge appetizer platter, a lemonade, a (huge) glass of white wine (nice selection, by the glass or bottle, glasses are $8), grilled salmon with vegetables and a mixed meat seafood platter with thin glassy noodles. Service is fantastic and tables are well space. The restaurant looks out on Connecticut Avenue. We never seem to have to wait for a table at Nam Viet, and on the off chance you do, the wait is two to three minutes.
What I like most about N-V besides the food is that it is hugely popular with everyone from college kids home from the summer knocking off a hangover at 7pm the following night (!), singles reading their copy of the New Yorker or Muscle Up over a plate of broiled fish, and elderly folks all of whom clearly feel at home at Nam Viet.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallahassee, Florida
Level Contributor
103 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Delicious pho that hit the spot”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2012

After a day of being on our feet at museums, we found Nam-Viet Pho 79 a welcome refuge. Love the decor that in our room was brick, hinting at the building's origin maybe 100 years ago. The tofu pho was flat out delicious. The service was fine, nothing superlative.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doha, Qatar
Level Contributor
84 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“A great no frills meal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2012

Pho, pho, pho, pho, pho (number 16 or 17 for me) with an order of crispy rolls to start with...a nice cold "33", and with little more than $15 you are set.
Sure, this isn't trendy, classy, fancy, chique -- it's just an honest Vietnamese joint that's been making consistently good food for many many years. Perfect anytime, whether for lunch or dinner, spring, summer, fall or winter.

Visited May 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Good Food...Very BAD attitude”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2012

We've been eating here for over ten years...the pho is first rate and I love,love,love the crispy spring rolls....but no one who works here ever smiles or seems to enjoy their job
And just try to send food back....we've only done this two times but each time the cook comes out very confrontational and insulting really., really wierd
Each time I say we're not going back....but the pho and the spring rolls...........
It's like eating great food in a vietnamese prison camp

  • Visited April 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nam-Viet Pho 79 also viewed

Washington DC, DC
Washington DC, DC
 
Washington DC, DC
Washington DC, DC
 

Been to Nam-Viet Pho 79? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nam-Viet Pho 79, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.