We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fresh and delicious” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Montmartre

Montmartre
327 Seventh St SE, Washington DC, DC 20003 (Capitol Hill)
202.544.1244
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #181 of 2,768 Restaurants in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Neighborhood: Capitol Hill
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Fresh and delicious”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014

After a filling lunch I was delighted to find wonderful mussels on the menu ... served 3 ways no less! Wine was half price on Sunday night so my daughter and I split a "split." Along with a side of fresh, sauted French green beans and crusty French bread, my meal was perfect. All three of us were happy.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    72
    37
    20
    2
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Pleasant Hill CA
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Wonderful!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014 via mobile

Amazing food! Not overly priced! Our party of 3 were 'oohing' and 'aaahing' while sharing everything. Huge pot of mussels....perfectly cooked and we are very very particular. The cassoulet was great as was the rabbit. This is not a pretentious French restaurant. It is what I like far better ...country French. It does what Julia Childs was doing, bringing great cooking to everyone. No waiting on a Thursday evening.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A bad customer treatment”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2014

My fiance booked a table in Montmartre yesterday. It was a special occasion for us. When we arrived we were seated at a high table with high chairs in the hall from the kitchen and bathrooms. I told them we would change table because it was uncomfortable for my back and an ugly place. And they said no. It could not be because we had booked out and it was raining outside. My fiance had not booked anywhere specific and less outside, we knew it was going to rain. Insist again and they say us that we booked out (again) and if we wanted a table inside, we would have to wait an hour. They implied that we lied. Intolerable. So we left without eating. A bad customer treatment.
But thanks to them we met Ambar, a delicious Balkan restaurant.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nm
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Not fine dining”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2014

Six of us met up to mark a special occasion with good food and wine. The meal was evolving at a leisurely pace as it should in a good French restaurant and we had just ordered a first course. A minute later the maitre d' appeared and rudely requested we order our entrees right then. We said we were not ready and asked if there was some sort of a time limit and she actually said there was, despite the restaurant not being full at the time. The entrees did not come out until much later (which was fine with us) and they did not rush us out (as they were still not full), but needless to say the ambiance of the evening was ruined as we felt under threat to hurry up. Good customers who had ordered a lot of food and wine should not be treated like this in a nice French restaurant. The food was good, the atmosphere was somewhat dated, but overall it was very disappointing and not amenable to a fine French dining experience. We will look elsewhere. Vive la France!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hudson valley, ny
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Always Delicious!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014

I can see why Montmartre is recommended as a local favorite. Whenever we are in town we make it a point to eat here. Excellent food and service.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Montmartre also viewed

 
Washington DC, DC
Washington DC, DC
 

Been to Montmartre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Montmartre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.