We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Glad for referral .... All good here .... Yum!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kramerbooks & Afterwords Cafe & Grill

Kramerbooks & Afterwords Cafe & Grill
1517 Connecticut Ave., N.W, Just Above Dupont Circle NW, Washington DC, DC 20036
(202) 387-3825
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #103 of 2,699 Restaurants in Washington DC
Price range: $15 - $20
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Description: Washington's only full-service restaurant and complete bar combined with an independent bookstore, located at the Dupont Metro Q Street station, Kramerbooks & Afterwords Cafe serves breakfast, lunch, dinner and weekend brunch; open early and late seven days a week, 24 hours Fridays and Saturdays, offering the full, widely varied dinner menu until closing time, as well as cocktails, coffee drinks and fabulous desserts.
Top Contributor
208 reviews 208 reviews
150 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
“Glad for referral .... All good here .... Yum!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

Was told to go here; glad we did? On Conn Ave, east side, old storefront just nort of DuPont Circle. After browsing thru book area (you don't have to do this), went in the back (clearly marked where) & had a good meal. Table sitting bit tight between each other. Basic atmosphere; almost a"jeans place".
Service attentive, excellent suggestions if you need them, & was able to answer all questions had. Grouper very moist on top of tasty mash & veggie. Also, crab cake excellent with lump crab & no bread crumb filler.
Greenhouse provides the backdrop to the book area. Go read, then enjoy!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

548 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    205
    232
    67
    29
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
“Heaven!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

I love to read and I was staying across the street at the Dupont Circle Hotel, so when I tell you I went to Kramerbooks 5 times in 4 days, it should tell you that I loved the place!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Splendid Sunday breakfast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

Staying on my own for business in the DuPont Circle hotel opposite I'd read good reviews and was not disappointed. Had the South Western omelette, orange juice and mini muffins served up free first of all, a great latte then beautifully cooked omelette with potatoes, fruit and so on all for a very reasonable price. Will definitely go back.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hillsboro, Oregon
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Tried to get in a number of times, glad we persisted”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

This is a very busy place and now we know why. The food was excellent. This is not a quiet romantic place, but vibrant, full of people having fun. I tried the Gary’s Jamaican Curried Goat and was extremely please. The meat was very tender, the spicing was perfect. My wife ordered the Peanut Chicken w/Asian Noodle Stir-Fry and was equally pleased. The servings are generous but not over the top. Our waiter talked us into trying the Italian Cream Cake for dessert....Try it! I'm going back next chance I get.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlantic City, New Jersey
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Eat and browse”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

We enjoyed a dinner for 14 people here. The food was delicious and served at tables overlooking the bookstore below. While waiting for our food, we could go and browse through a great selection of books. It is located at Dupont Circle, so easy to get to by Metro. Parking is a little trickier, but a spot can be found.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kramerbooks & Afterwords Cafe & Grill also viewed

 
Washington DC, DC
 

Been to Kramerbooks & Afterwords Cafe & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kramerbooks & Afterwords Cafe & Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.