We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Traditional Italian” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ella's Wood-Fired Pizza

Ella's Wood-Fired Pizza
610 9th Street NW, Washington DC, DC 20004 (Downtown / Chinatown)
202.638.3434
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #159 of 2,700 Restaurants in Washington DC
Cuisines: Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene, Outdoor seating
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Neighborhood: Downtown / Chinatown
Alexandria, Virginia
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Traditional Italian”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

We stopped in on a whim at about 6:30 on Mother's Day. The place was packed by the list moved quickly and we had a table in less than 10 minutes. The ambiance reminded me of restaurants in Italy. Pizza and meatball calzone (I got two meals out of this) were both yummy. I wasn't impressed with my salad. It was literally dripping with olive oil. My husband really liked the cheesecake although I thought it was just okay. We did have to wait quite a while to get out check but spent the time chatting since we weren't in a hurry.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

344 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    138
    137
    55
    10
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newport News, Virginia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great Food, just make sure to call for reservations...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

Food was great & the manager was very accommodating after we waited well past the quoted wait time. Realizing we were on a time crunch (I mean we had to be in/out within an hour & half) the manager squeezed us in & must have put a rush on our meal ticket because our food came out very quickly & we were able to make our event in time!! He also comped our appetizer which was very sweet & not expected. I would definitely recommend Ella's as the pizza is absolutely delicious!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allison D, Guest Relations Manager at Ella's Wood-Fired Pizza, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
Thank you Amber!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Wood fired”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013 via mobile

The pizza was good, I just like more sauce than they pit on, maybe I should have asked for more. The waiter was very attentive. The only negative was that the hallway to the bathroom smelled like raw seafood, yucky!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxon Hill, Maryland
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Pizza”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

Good Pizza. Prefer more chicago style pizza than theirs but the pizza is still good. Nice location. Nice atmosphere.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allison D, Guest Relations Manager at Ella's Wood-Fired Pizza, responded to this review, May 11, 2013
Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Really good wood fire pizza”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

My family ate here before a show at the Ford Theater. We had fried mozzarella and antipasto tray as appetizers, The antipasto was excellent a nice selection of meats and cheeses, and the fried cheese much better then expected, good mix of mozzarella, ricotta and parmesan cheeses, We all had Pizza, the Verdure and Nocia were superb, some of the best Pizza I've had anywhere, the Margherita was very good, and the Bosco (garlic, wild mushroom, tomatoes) was a loser the garlic was very harsh. The service was good and with drinks all around bill was under $100. Definitely a good spot for DC with good food at a reasonable price

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allison D, Guest Relations Manager at Ella's Wood-Fired Pizza, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ella's Wood-Fired Pizza also viewed

 

Been to Ella's Wood-Fired Pizza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ella's Wood-Fired Pizza, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.