We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A bit of France in America” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bistro d'Oc

Bistro d'Oc
518 10th St NW, Washington DC, DC 20004 (Downtown / Chinatown)
202-393-5444
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Bistro d'Oc is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #540 of 2,700 Restaurants in Washington DC
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: Asian, French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Downtown / Chinatown
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“A bit of France in America”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

I had a great time in France last summer, so when I ran across this little restaurant, I was optimistic, and they didn't disappoint. Opened with a glass of bubbly, then had the chicken & frites with a sauv blanc, ending with a cappucino. So nostalgic, for $53. Great service, traditional French bistro attitude -- they'll be as friendly as you are.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    62
    59
    20
    14
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Collins, Colorado
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Across from Ford Theatre.....Terrible”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

after a fantastic evening seeing a production at the Ford Theatre, we ventured across the street to this small bistro to have dinner. Good moods we were in, we sat in the front (table 3) and our waiter (Z) could not of been any ruder, short tempered, non-attentive, etc etc etc. The food was dry and lacked tasted. Almost as if it was made for a buffet line that was left over from lunch. It is not an inexpensive restaurant. Go elsewhere.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne Beach, Florida
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Best Provincial French Restaurant in D.C. at Best Price”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

I always eat here when I'm in D.C. My sister lives in Langue d'Oc so I know the cuisine well and this is as authentic as it gets. Wonderful atmosphere, tables spaced widely enough that you can converse without shouting. Sadly, they ran out of the special fish--Dourade, a sea bream from the Mediterranean that you rarely see on these shores--before I could order it. But all of the food is good, and we had a decent bottle of wine for $12. Great pre- and post-theater menu as well (it's right across the street from Ford's Theater).

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
suburban Washington DC
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Lived in France - This is the real thing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

How wonderful to find a bistro that reminds me of our time in France. Not Paris, but SW France where the food is less pretentious. This bistro has a menu + a big board of specials. The wine list includes many reasonably priced and good selections. I had eaten there before and picked it for a family birthday celebration. The teens were happy because it seemed "really French," (and one of the waiters was really cute), the adults were happy with the seating and the wide selection of meat and fish. The grandparents were happy with the noise level (maybe we were the loudest), and the prices. The service was attentive and it was a special evening. Thanks to Benoit who made sure all went well.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
199 reviews 199 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
168 helpful votes 168 helpful votes
“Excellent southern French cooking”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

I've eaten there twice for lunch and it was great. This is a French bistro, but one with southwestern French flavor not Paris--i.e., the area called Languedoc or the department of Aude, close to the Pyrenees. I particularly like the appetizer of lamb brains in garlic and butter--where else in DC can you get that--which appears to stay on the menu? Even the squeamish will enjoy this great flavor. The butternut squash soup with sour cream is another wonderful appetizer. The basic entree menu doesn't change much and is pretty standard, but they bring a big board with the day's specialties that tend to be different--e.g., a mixture of sausages with a sauerkraut that is not strong on the vinegar as you would find in Germanic countries. The wines are good and reasonable by the glass. The dessert menu tends to be more interesting than the board of specials. Great atmosphere of a bistro.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bistro d'Oc also viewed

 
Washington DC, DC
 

Been to Bistro d'Oc? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bistro d'Oc, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.