We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The cutest cupcake and store you'll ever see” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Baked and Wired

Baked and Wired
1052 Thomas Jefferson St., Washington DC, DC 20007
202-333-2500
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 2,710 Restaurants in Washington DC
Cuisines: Bakery, Coffee Shop
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dessert
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dessert
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“The cutest cupcake and store you'll ever see”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013 via mobile

I love this place. I have been going for four years and it just gets better. The carrot cake cupcake it the best one, I think and they have amazing coffee.

If you want a good cupcake, don't settle for georgetown cupcake or sprinkles.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

390 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    264
    95
    29
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC
Top Contributor
141 reviews 141 reviews
116 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
“best Cupcakes in DC”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

Hands down. Tried em all multiple time. Did a taste test. Red Velvet, Hello, G'Town, Crumbs, etc etc- no contest. NONE!!

NO CONTEST!!! Best cupcakes in DC.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Best Cupcakes!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

Tried strawberry cupcake, lemon, carrot, and (I think) Tressida. All better than the last!! Coffee shop in the same area, so nice. I was there about 7:50 PM, no decaf available. They did have something called Americana which they gave me for the same decaf price. Very accommodating, service marvelous, both places.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clarksboro, New Jersey
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Ice cream sammies, macchiato, and awesomeness!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

My husband and I made a special trip to Georgetown in part just to get “ice cream sammies” and a macchiato from Baked and Wired. It was even better than we had hoped! The ice cream sammies were made from fresh baked cookies and the ice cream between the cookies was smooth, creamy, and delicious. Hubby enjoyed vanilla ice cream between two chocolate chip cookies and I devoured sweet peach ice cream between two chewy oatmeal cookies. Mmmmm! The macchiato was the perfect little espresso treat to complement the sammies. The seating was also quite a treat. Comfy couches and chairs were available or we could sit at one of the counters. There was also limited outdoor seating available, but since it was a very short walk to the canal, taking our treats to one of the canal benches was a nice option. The wall of the back room was covered by napkins on which customers had drawn and/or written notes. Some were very artistic. The whole feel was relaxed, artsy, and fun. We plan to revisit Baked & Wired each time we return to DC.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Moist cupcakes, lovely coffee and enthusiastic staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

Got a recommendation from the hotel to try this cupcake place out as the teenager was 'desperate' to try an 'original' cupcake. It is not on the main drag but down a side street. Staff were energetic with the time to tell you all about the cakes and the coffee place where you order the coffee is adjacent to the cupcake counter. They also do nice looking quiches so not a one trick pony. Whilst we were there someone came in who had a birthday and the staff sang to them and rang a bell — nice touch. We took away a cupcake to entice the teenager to do a walk when we went to Shenandoah — it worked!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Baked and Wired also viewed

Washington DC, DC
Washington DC, DC
 
Washington DC, DC
 

Been to Baked and Wired? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Baked and Wired, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.