We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“original experience” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Meskerem Ethiopian Restaurant

Meskerem Ethiopian Restaurant
2434 18th St NW, Washington DC, DC 20009-2004 (Adams Morgan)
202-462-4100
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Meskerem Ethiopian Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #641 of 2,498 Restaurants in Washington DC
Price range: $20 - $20
Cuisines: African, Ethiopian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Adams Morgan
Paris, France
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“original experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

food is not really excellent but it was an original experience and a friendly place, in a nice and safe neigborhood

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    58
    32
    16
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Naples, Florida
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Good place to get your Ethiopian fix”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

Nice place, interesting decor and very friendly service. I had the vegetarian messob which was very good. I'll be back to try more dishes.

If you are new to ethiopian dining - don't ask for utensils. Make sure you wash your hands ... you eat your meal with your fingers!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, Florida
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“First time experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

Be prepared to eat with your fingers. Food is served with a spongy Ethiopian bread that is gray in color, served cold and rather tasteless. I had a combination plate with meat, chicken, and lamb. Nice portion size, fairly tasty. Interesting experience but once was enough

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Tasty food - cheap and easy to share - but served by waitress who looked bored and disinterested”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

This place was recommended by a friend as we were visiting from Texas. Found the honey wine very sweet and the sambusas very much like Indian samosas but wrapped in filo pastry shell. The sampler platter was good and so was the lamb tibs - enjira was soft and yummy. Service could have been much better. Overall was a good meal and we came out full!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Good Ethiopian in Adams Morgan”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

My daughter mentioned that she was interested in trying Ethiopian so we thought DC would be a good place. There are many restaurants in the U Street corridor, but after some research we picked Meskerem since we wanted to see the Adams Morgan neighborhood.

Meskerem didn't disappoint. Our server helped us order some delicious and unique dishes - lamb, beef and several vegetable dishes - all served on a big tray lined with injera, the traditional Ethiopian (and gluten-free!) bread. Great Ethiopian beer, too!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Meskerem Ethiopian Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Meskerem Ethiopian Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Meskerem Ethiopian Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.