We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Vidalla for a lovely lunch” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Vidalia Restaurant

Vidalia Restaurant
1990 M Street, Washington DC, DC 20036
(202) 659-1990
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Vidalia Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #72 of 2,498 Restaurants in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $40 - $40
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: 20th St NW
Transit: Dupont Circle Red Line
vancouver
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Vidalla for a lovely lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

My family and I had very reasonable a pre-fix lunch 3 course meal in April. Everything we had was beautifully presented, expertly thoughtout-combined and executed. From the seared wild Atlantic Salmon, fried crispy chicken, seared lamb tender loin to the beautiful tasty made from scratch desserts- all in an elegant intimate surrounding. A real gem just few blocks west of the National Geographic headoffices. Well worth the walk to for our tasty lunch.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

342 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    188
    88
    38
    17
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“A trip down South”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

Being a Yank living abroad, it was great to try Southern food for something different. I was very pleased with the choice. The service was excellent and so was the food. For my main, I had bacon-wrapped rabbit. It was a unique twist and the flavours worked well together. The highlight of the meal was actually our starter which was a selection of cured hams with bread and mustard. They were so unique and very tasty. It was the best meal I had in DC and would definitely go back if I were ever back in town.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
176 reviews 176 reviews
143 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Vidalia is a chic southern comforts entry”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013 via mobile

As the name suggests, this restaurant serves up southern style food, including the essential fried chicken. Its setting is chic, despite serving up some down home favorites. Most of the menu offers up a rather sophisticated twist on southern comfort foods. There are also luncheon prix fixe bargain menus. Plus there is a whimsical touch, as reflected in their offering of regional southern authentic bottles of soda pop from states like GA, NC, TX, and MD too. The desserts are delicious. All in all, this place is a WINNER! Highly recommended.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Sublime”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

I had the pleasure of a meal at Vidalia's on July 16th with a group. The restaurant has a clean, contemporary feel. We were seated and had drinks and light chatter before ordering. I had the 4 onion bisque with fried oysters. It was phenomenal; silky, creamy bisque and perfectly fried osyters with a nice crunch. Highly recommend the Shrimp and Grits. The grits were creamy and the shrimp were perfectly grilled. Not dry and rubbery, but moist and flavorful. For finishers I had the pecan pie. That was a sweeeet, gem of a pie. Crunchy nuts that covered a rich creamy center. The crust was perfect and flaky. Zack was our host and his rapport, and caring attitude rounded out a perfect evening! Will return!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“My New Favorite Restaurant.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

Elegant setting and delicious food. My date and I shared the tasting menu. It's a great way to sample the menu. The food here is amazing. Everything is fresh and beautifully presented. The kitchen pays attention to every detail. Great flavors.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Vidalia Restaurant also viewed

Washington DC, DC
Washington DC, DC
 
Washington DC, DC
 

Been to Vidalia Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vidalia Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.