We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lunch was so good we returned for dinner on the same day!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grillfish

Grillfish
1200 New Hampshire Ave NW, Washington DC, DC 20036-6802
(202) 331-7310
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Grillfish is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #33 of 2,558 Restaurants in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: Seafood, Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Doing business, Local cuisine, Romantic, Bar scene
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: M St.
Transit: Red Line -Dupont Circle. 19th street exit, walk down 19th St. to M St., turn right. 2 and a half blocks to the corner of New Hampshire & M St. Blue/Orange Line -Foggy Bottom/GWU. Go left toward Washington Circle. Walk across Washington Circle to New Hampshire Ave. Walk 2 blocks on New Hampshire to the corner of New Hampshire & M St.
Description: We source the finest, sustainable & local ingredients to create handcrafted food & beverages. Our setting is unmatched and the best casual, neighborhood dining in the West End. The bar is ornately decorated with massive mirrors, large columns and a multitude of glowing candles. These, along with the open kitchen where flames leap from the grill, create a warmth and intimacy in a casual atmosphere.
boston
Level Contributor
76 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Lunch was so good we returned for dinner on the same day!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014

I was in town with some colleagues for a conference and on our lunch break we decided to try Grillfish because of its proximity to the venue.

I had a caesar salad with grilled salmon that was absolutely fresh and absolutely delicious. The bread was very fresh -- in fact it was being delivered when we arrived. For dessert I had a raspberry key lime pie that took about a nano-second to convince me that it was unusually tasty.

I went back that evening for dinner with colleagues and had a fabulous seafood diablo, filled with clams, mussels, and calamari, and one shrimp (!). The sauce was hot and spicy and the pasta done al dente. No dessert this time, as even though I had had half of the entree wrapped to take back to my hotel room I was quite sated.

The service is great, but place is loud so I didn't rank it a 5. Reservations are a must.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julian O, Manager at Grillfish, responded to this review, March 15, 2014
liviBoston,

Thanks for dining with us! We appreciate your comments and your recommendations! I'm happy to hear you enjoyed the Fra Diavlo dish and the Key Lime Pie dessert. Those are two of my favorite items. I'll make sure to forward your kind words and comments to the chef and staff.

All the best,
Julian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

449 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    214
    178
    38
    13
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
113 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Excellent artic char and good service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014

Grillfish is a warm and inviting casual restaurant. My team was in DC on business and we decided to ry Grillfish on the recommendation of a local resident. The staff easily handled our party of eight. Service was efficient yet pleasant.

I had the artic char ($23.75). It was excellent. artic char is related to salmon, but it has a more delicate flavor and is slightly less oily. The artic char was cooked perfectly and served with spaghetti squash. The Allagash white Belgian-style ale on draft ($7/glass) complimented the fish perfectly.

Other specifics

Hostess/Greeter: pleasant and seated us promptly as we had reservations
Overall cleanliness and hygiene: Overall clean, but one person in our party received a wine glass with lipstick stains on the rim. Upon bringing this to the attention of the sever, it was quickly replaced.

Bathrooms: clean

Overall service: Efficient. Upon request, our server provided us separate checks.

Misc/Advice: The specials and even some menu items are of limited quantity. One posted special was gone by 6:00, and our party ordered the last Artic char available that evening.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julian O, Manager at Grillfish, responded to this review, March 15, 2014
Dear utfiero,

Thank you for your review of Grillfish! We appreciate your kind words and recommendations and are happy to hear your guests had a good time with us. We hope to see you dining with us again soon.

All the best,
Julian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elkins Park, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
27 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Another delicious "clean your plate" dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014

We were greeted at the door by 2 friendly guys who took us right to our table! Our server introduced herself as was just as sweet! We enjoyed our wine and appetizers(Grilled Portobella & sun dried tomatoes-delicious) and salads. WE all ordered fish and lets just say everyone's plate was clean! Fish was amazing, veggies and potatoes were so tasty. Not big portions-but just perfect! Great wine! Dessert( Creme Brulee Cheesecake and a chocolate torte) and coffee was a perfect end to a lovely meal on a rainy cold DC night!

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julian O, Manager at Grillfish, responded to this review, March 10, 2014
Hello Maggie,

Thanks for your review of Grillfish on TripAdvisor. I'm glad to hear of your wonderful experience and that you enjoyed your evening. I will pass along your compliments to the cooks and the server, and hope to see you again soon.

All the best,
Julian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cliffside Park, New Jersey
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Loved it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

Food was amazing - if you are a fish lover this is certainly the place - love the fact that they have the basic fish we all know
as well as some interesting choices we have never heard of. Not the same old same old fish place -
Well done!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
125 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Wonderful restaurant in Dupont Circle area”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

I ate dinner as part of a large business group. We had very good service and the food did not disappoint. Ahi tuna, Greek mussels (excellent), ginger calamari, clam chowder. Good atmosphere. A keeper.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julian O, Manager at Grillfish, responded to this review, March 10, 2014
Hello Maiglesias,

Thanks for your review of Grillfish on TripAdvisor. I'm happy to hear that you and your party had a great experience with us. We appreciate your comments and hope to see you and company dining with us soon.

All the best,
Julian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Grillfish also viewed

 

Been to Grillfish? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grillfish, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.