We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceptional Food and Service at a Price You Would Expect” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tosca Restaurant

Tosca Restaurant
1112 F St NW, Washington DC, DC 20004-1308 (Downtown / Chinatown)
202-367-1990
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Tosca Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #46 of 2,564 Restaurants in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: Italian, Pasta
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Neighborhood: Downtown / Chinatown
Cross street: between 11th and 12th
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
98 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Exceptional Food and Service at a Price You Would Expect”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014

Unless you are loaded or on an expense account, Tosca is the sort of place you go if someone else is treating or for a very special event. But it's worth it. Just a few blocks from the White House, this is the quintessential 5-star Italian restaurant with fancy linen, crystal, china and waiters in white dinner jackets. There were four of us dining. We began with a very fresh green salad and a pasta course for an appetizer. The pasta was cooked perfectly al dente, with a light cheese sauce and flavored with porcini mushrooms and black truffle oil. Two of us enjoyed perfectly cooked Dover sole that was filleted at the table and served with braised cabbage and chopped asparagus. Be sure to ask if this is on the menu the moment you arrive - we ordered ours immediately and just after, they ran out. The two other diners enjoyed the veal chop and lobster ravioli, respectively, and no one was complaining. Everything was cooked perfectly, nicely portioned and absolutely delicious.

There was no room for desert, but try their homemade Limoncello. A perfect example of this wonderful lemon liqueur from the Amalfi coast. After, I asked to see the bottle. The waiter did not want to show it, but ultimately succumbed. And he was nice enough to top up our glasses when he did.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

368 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    230
    88
    31
    13
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Top notch!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2014

This place is expensive but worth every dollar. We had the table d'hôte but without the wine tasting option. Everything was delicious and the portions were generous. They bring each course quickly but they don't try to rush you out the door.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great Place!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2014 via mobile

Food was delicious and filling, the service was GOOD, I feel like our waiter could of been a tad bit more attentive, but overall we're we're treated wonderfully.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Juan
Level Contributor
193 reviews
148 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Worth it”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2014

A business associate brought me her and it was worth the experience. The appetizers were very good and the food was excellent. A nice touch: they serve half portions and you can order a la carte from the tasting menu. It gives you a better selection of plates. Beautiful plates and the service is excellent without undue interruptions. I would be back to try a different dish without hesitation. The place was packed, and yet you could easily carry a conversation and the adjacent tables did not bother.Nice atmosphere, also.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, Maryland
Level Contributor
113 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Lovely, dependable source of highest quality Italian food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014

Six of us enjoyed a wonderful dinner here as we have over the course of many years. The elegant atmosphere was not raucous and permitted easy conversation. All the food was beautifully presented and enjoyed by everyone. Our starters included half-portions of several of the superlative pasta dishes: tortelli stuffed with cheese and truffles and sauced with chanterelles; pasta alla chitarra with tomato and basil sauce, spaghetti alla Bolognese, ravioli stuffed with lobster tail meat, and carrot-flavored pappardelle with rabbit ragu. The main courses were also delicious: a huge veal chop, shrimp with ginger, and a venison tenderloin special that substituted for the lamb tenderloin. The only complaint I heard was the inedible artichoke leaves that accompanied the venison, which was also a bit chewy, as might be expected. Desserts were marvellous: molten chocolate cake, pumpkin panna cotta and ice cream parfait. The pastas and desserts were the highlights of the meal. The server was very attentive and suggested an unusual and not expensive Italian white wine that everyone liked.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tosca Restaurant also viewed

 
Washington DC, DC
 

Been to Tosca Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tosca Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.