We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Pre Theater Choice” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Jaleo

Jaleo
480 7th St NW, Washington DC, DC 20004-2207 (Downtown / Chinatown)
+1 202-628-7949
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Jaleo is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #57 of 2,700 Restaurants in Washington DC
Cuisines: Spanish, Tapas
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Downtown / Chinatown
Cross street: E St.
Transit: We are located 1 block south of the Gallery Place/Chinatown metro station on the yellow, green and red lines. Take the 7th and Arena exit, walk one block south. The restaurant is located on the right hand corner of 7th and E St. We are also 1 block North of Arhives/Navy Memorial/Penn Quarter station on the green and yellow lines.
Description: Jaleo brings alive the spirit and flavors of Spain with a menu reflecting the rich regional diversity of classical and contemporary Spanish cuisine, under the direction of renowned chef Jose Andres. Jaleo offers an impressive assortment of tapas, the traditional small dishes of Spain, as well as savory paellas, superb sangrias and a fine selection of Spanish wines and Sherries in a festive, casual atmosphere.
Poughkeepsie, New York
Top Contributor
140 reviews 140 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Excellent Pre Theater Choice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

We had tickets for West Side Story at the National Theater and decided to have some dinner before the show. Per recommendations from friends, we stopped into this restaurant for dinner. We chose to have dinner outside since the weather was nice. The dishes are more tapas style and there menu was quite expansive and offered a lot of options for dinner. There was a pre theater menu for fairly inexpensive that allowed you to have 4 dishes. We discovered that if you opt for this option, the whole table has to order from this menu. The drinks and the meal were great. The dishes were all timed perfectly and cooked well. When people hear tapas they typically think they will not have enough to eat because of the size of the dishes. We were all stuffed at the end of our meals and had a great experience. We would definitely recommend this restaurant for anyone looking for an expansive menu with tons of options.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,132 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    531
    377
    130
    61
    33
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New Haven, Connecticut
Top Contributor
229 reviews 229 reviews
174 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
148 helpful votes 148 helpful votes
“Tapas, DC-style”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

We managed to eat here the last night of our Washington vacation. We were very fortunate to be able to sit at a table near the window. it proved to be removed enough from the noise and clatter of the main restaurant to be comfortable. And, to dine on the exciting, adventurous fare here, we really need to be comfortable! We started out with a mussels tapas served on a bed of ice. Immediately a red flag went up and I consulted with the waiter who insisted that these were first steamed, then chilled, then served on ice with ipirrana, Sherry dressing and honey. I wanted to make sure these were not raw. They were wonderful- like a variation on a mussels cerviche. A side of bread would have been nice, though- this was served later. Rossejat with its toasted pasta with shrimp and calamari was a huge hit- flavorful, and a decent portion. Shrimp sautéed with garlic has one of the best garlic sauces I ever had. Quail was tender and cleaned easily off the bone. Bacon-wrapped dates was amazing. Finally, dessert of chocolate flan was a great way to finish off this meal. The wine list has principally Spanish offerings, but was confusing and daunting to maneuver- the helpful waiter helped with recommendations which were spot on.
Service was generally very professional. We are thankful that our small table never had more than two tapas at a time.

Although we'd go back there, we will definitely make sure we reserve a window table.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan, United States
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Worth a look or two”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

We had lunch here twice during our recent stay in DC. The food was good, the prices reasonable by DC standards, the staff accommodating, and the service excellent.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno Nevada
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Order and Eat. A lot!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

Good: Huge selection of excellent tapas (small plates to be shared) covering all price ranges. There has to be more than 50 types of tapas, check the website.

Better: A selection of different gin and flavored tonic waters and Sangria. Perfect for DC heat!

Bad: Not much bad. You will probably want to have reservations, particularly for dinner.

This is an easy review because the food is great, there are a lot of options at a lot of different price points, and it's a Jose Andres restaurant. You can spend $50 per couple or $200 or more depending on your selections and booze preference. I prefer booze. Lunch crowd dressed casual, night time was a little more dressy. Service was attentive without being overbearing.

Drinks: I started with a gin and tonic ($14?) served over a single giant ice cube with a lemon slice on the cube which meant that every drink started with a big sniff of lemon. Killer. The Wife had the Sangria, fantastic.

Food - the liquid olive ($1.50) was served in a spoon and was very interesting. Then had the mini-iberico ham sandwiches, oxtail fritters, cheese, creamy rice and mushrooms, Vidalia onion with bleu cheese, garlic chicken, and a few more small plates, all of which are meant to be split. The prices ranged from $5 to $20+ per plate, which may seem like a lot, but these are high end Spanish tapas, not mere street food, and for $119 plus tip we probably had 8 plates of varying styles and flavors, a couple of gin and tonics and sangria. You can also get pre-selected platters of tapas, paella, salads, and other similar items if the menu is too daunting. Don't be daunted, just start ordering and eating!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Extremelly delicious!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

Great food, hosts and choices. Prices are really good considering the fact that you can have easily 4-5 different plates. Love it, love it. Will definitely return!

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jaleo also viewed

Washington DC, DC
Washington DC, DC
 
Washington DC, DC
Washington DC, DC
 

Been to Jaleo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jaleo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.