We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Authentic neighbourhood Italian” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Tomate

La Tomate
1701 Connecticut Ave NW, Washington DC, DC 20009-1108 (Dupont Circle)
202-667-5505
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
La Tomate is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #463 of 2,623 restaurants in Washington DC
Price range: $26 - $26
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Dupont Circle
Cross street: R
Transit: Red Line, Dupont Circle
Nottingham
Top Contributor
207 reviews 207 reviews
105 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 110 cities Reviews in 110 cities
155 helpful votes 155 helpful votes
“Authentic neighbourhood Italian”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

Of the four restaurants we visited in the DuPont circle area this gets my vote as the best. I thought that we were sincerely welcomed, not rushed, the service was good and the food inventive and hot. It was a busy day and we were there at the end of it so it was a good test. I would definitely go back here and it is definitely better that the Italian opposite Sette Osteria.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

235 reviews from our community

66% Recommend
    59
    98
    42
    20
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Berkshires
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Nice Lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

We were attending a conference and decided to take a walk and found this restaurant and walked in. we sat at in the bar and were greeted and given a menu. I has pasta fazool and it was great. I also had a prosciutto platter with cheese. The service was a little slow as we were the only a group of 4 and the rest of the restaurant seemed empty. All was good and we really were not in a hurry.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Great out door seating for a late lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

Nice uncomplicated spot for lunch on DuPont Circle, after spending a long day at the Cherry Blossom Festival, we caught a cab back to DuPont for a late lunch. Outdoor seating, great people watching, selected the smoked salmon with chive marcapone and a prosciutto sandwich with a glass of Sauvigon blanc. Even a little street music jamming in the area, enjoyed it.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Truly outstanding meal- an all around great experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

We are staying nearby in the DuPont circle area and received recommendations for this place through our hotel. It is much more impressive inside than out; two floors, but with an airy, open feel while still maintains a cozy intimate atmosphere. Truly every part of the evening was wonderful! Our service was great; the waiter was not overly attentive but still made his presence appropriately. My mother and I split one of the prosciutto appetizers (the restaurants speciality!) and a delicious pear and Gorgonzola salad for starters, and then the spinach tortellini entree. All three were truly DELICIOUS and you really got a sense of the chefs hard work and attention to detail. For dessert we had the creme brûlée and coffee which was a perfect and scrumptious end to the meal. We are definitely coming back here, and if your in the DuPont circle area it's a must try!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hillsdale, NJ
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

After walking around all day we were late with making a reservation. We were able to make a reservation on opentable which was very helpful. The service was wonderful and the food was great.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Tomate also viewed

Washington DC, DC
Washington DC, DC
 
Washington DC, DC
Washington DC, DC
 

Been to La Tomate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Tomate, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.