We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Corduroy Class” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Corduroy

Corduroy
1122 Ninth St. NW, Washington DC, DC 20001 (Mount Vernon Square)
(202) 589-0699
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Corduroy is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #6 of 2,562 Restaurants in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $25 - $100
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Doing business
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Neighborhood: Mount Vernon Square
Cross street: Ninth Street between L and M Streets
Transit: Mt. Vernon Square/Convention Center
Camarillo, California
1 review
“Corduroy Class”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

Hard to find, but worth it. A small place, very subdued the night we were there - quiet waiters presenting the food with panache. Try the chef's choice menu - 5 delectable dishes of the chef's choosing, and tailored to any dietary restrictions (much appreciated to one in our party). Nice speciality cocktails, good wine list, small intimate bar area on second floor but it was empty. Only minor drawback - the portions were "elegantly small". I should have ordered a rich desert...

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

287 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    185
    64
    24
    11
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
bethesda, md
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“WOW! Fantastic experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

Celebrated our 50th wedding anniversary at Corduroy last nite and it was MORE than we could possibly have anticipated! The service was beyond perfect and the food was AMAZING!!!! We chose the tasting menu and every dish was not only delicious, but the presentation was picturesque!
We loved the entire experience, and look forward to returning for another dinner "to die for".

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
79 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Good Value for DC and Superb Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

We went with a group of 13 on the night after Thanksgiving and had a great meal. For groups, a private room upstairs is offered with a 3 course menu (app, main, dessert) for $65. There are 3 choices in each category that included many of the favorites of Corduroy diners and each course was good sized. Young adult kids recommended this restaurant as good value for DC and good food according to their foodie friends. Adults of all ages in our group liked it. As said by others, wine list is good but pricey so you would want to go easy on drinks for a less pricey meal here but do not skip the food.

Standouts among our entres were the antelope (not at al gamey) and big eye tuna often mentioned below. Red meat hater ate pork loin with kale that caused her to clean her plate (as did almost everyone). The steak and potatoes were very good but less interesting than the other mains. The lobster carpaccio was terrific but 2 of our group with shellfish sensitivity felt a small reaction to it. The mushroom tartlets were also great. The desserts were very well made but as said below not as unique as the entres. I felt the chocolate tart was the best but it was dark chocolate which only us chocolate lovers rate as best. We chose least pricey wines but they were very good. Standout drink is their manhattan made with special bitters and vermouth. Give a try if you like mixed drinks.

The standout thing about our visit was the superb service. Nothing went unnoticed or unattended to. One diner sent antelope back twice as too rare and they were very good about and did not overcook it (note all meat looked quite rare but my taste of the antelope was warm and husband who hates rare liked it fine). Their policy is two tables for more than 6 or 8. Niece and MIL demanded one long table as one was sitting in the hallway. They courteously and quickly changed to one table while we sat in the small nice bar next to our room. Long table was nice but you cannot converse the length so not sure it is a better option than two rounds. They were even polite when we lingered loud and overlong. I would not recommend this place for kids but I bet they would be treated really well if you had to take them.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morristown, New Jersey
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

There were six of us for dinner. We all had a different entree and one was better than the next. The antelope was really flavorful and extremely tender. The big eye tuna was seared perfectly. The menu is small but even the vegetarian had a hard time figuring out which appetizer to order. The chef made her a very tasty vegetarian entree. This should be a must if you are in Washington DC.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saratoga Springs, New York
Level Contributor
126 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Excellent service, nice atmosphere, good food!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

I enjoyed a very nice lunch here on a business trip to DC. The food was solidly good--although I would not say that it was outstanding. The service was excellent. Overall, it was a good experience.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Corduroy also viewed

 
Washington DC, DC
 

Been to Corduroy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Corduroy, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.