We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Busy but tasty food” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Thaiphoon

Thaiphoon
2011 S St NW, Washington DC, DC 20009-1109 (Dupont Circle)
(202) 667-3505
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #397 of 2,701 Restaurants in Washington DC
Cuisines: Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Neighborhood: Dupont Circle
Minneapolis
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Busy but tasty food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

Met friends for lunch (7 adults, 3 toddlers) on a weekday afternoon. MAKE A RESERVATION!!! Very busy and probably because we were a large party, service was a bit slow. Prices are reasonable and the food was delivered hot and tasted fresh and flavorful.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    46
    72
    25
    8
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Surprisingly good”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

I'm not a big fan of Thai, but a colleague took me here on a business trip. Probably the best vodka tonic I've had in a long time! If you can impress me with a standard cocktail, you have my attention. My colleague ordered a margarita and it came with a very festive maraschino cherry and lime stuck in a toothpick umbrella. Fancy! The Tom Yum soup was spicy, but SO flavorful! The Thaiphoon seafood was excellent, and not heavy, and the Pad Thai was light, fresh, and perfectly cooked. The servers were completely attentive without being annoying. This place gets two thumbs up from me.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“quick and filling”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

We went there for a late dinner as we stayed in the neighborhood. Dinner was served quickly and food was good, just what we needed at that time.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Top Contributor
237 reviews 237 reviews
133 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 85 cities Reviews in 85 cities
100 helpful votes 100 helpful votes
“Dinner for 4”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

Four us shared a number of dishes and they were all quite good. The ginger perfect beef and the pad typhoon really stood out. I sometimes find pad thai too sweet but this one was good. It's a casual style restaurant and the service was OK.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norman, Oklahoma
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Interesting food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

Good service, interesting food - spinach leaves lightly battered & fried, with veggies & shrimp & squid. Spicy and yummy

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Thaiphoon also viewed

Washington DC, DC
Washington DC, DC
 

Been to Thaiphoon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Thaiphoon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.