We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beyond Overrated” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Georgia Brown's

Georgia Brown's
950 15th St NW, Washington DC, DC 20005 (Dupont Circle)
(202) 393-4499
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Georgia Brown's is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #157 of 2,700 Restaurants in Washington DC
Price range: $29 - $31
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Dupont Circle
Cross street: Between K and I Streets
Transit: We are conveniently located near the McPherson Square metro station on the orange and blue lines. Exit the metro at Vermont Avenue and walk one-half block North on 15th Street. Traveling on the red line stop at Farragut North. Walk two blocks east on K Street. Turn right at the corner of 15th and K. We are mid-way through the block on the right.
Description: Come and experience our lively interpretation of South Carolina Low-Country cuisine. Enjoy good southern food, servers who bubble over with hospitality, and a dining room that is truly distinctive. With its honey-colored walls, golden woods and bronze sculptures that crawl across the ceiling, designer Adam Tihany has created an atmosphere to awaken your senses. What better place to enjoy low country cuisine than in this contemporary environment celebrating the south. Offering the flavor of the South - the Soul of Washington; where we will be sure to leave a light burning in the window for you, our guests. Follow us on Twitter: twitter.com/gbrowns Visit our Facebook page: www.georgiabrowns.com/facebook
florida
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Beyond Overrated”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012 via mobile

Could not wait to go after a recommendation. Complete waist. While my wife thought her article char was pretty good, I had short ribs which were luke warm temperature and not very tender. I expected that falling off the bone type of tenderness. Smoked veggies were a cup of greasy mushrooms and carrots (not as described by our waiter).

Waist of time and money.

    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

645 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    225
    244
    117
    41
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“OMG”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

This place has the best food around. I wished we could have gone there a second time for dinner. Incredible food.. you have to dine at this place. One word of advice I would give. Make a reservation it's popular.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Cheeky prix fixe!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Having perused the menus for Georgia Brown's online I had concluded it looked very good, if a little pricey. Then I noticed the prix fixe lunch deal for $25 and decided to give it a whirl this afternoon.

Not wanting to risk missing out I booked a table for my solo lunch at 1pm and was warmly welcomed by (who I presume was) the Maître D’ and then shown to my table by my waiter. Ice cold tap water was delivered with the menu (something I really wish the UK would cotton on to) and, seeing me glance briefly at the menu, as by that point I knew it off by heart, the waiter immediately took my order.

The food really is exceptional. Beautifully presented and lightly done – something that can be tricky if you’re serving the gutsy home-style fare they are – the flavours were well balanced, fresh and perfectly on the right side of decadent. Service was swift and attentive without being obtrusive. I thoroughly enjoyed the experience and at $25 for three courses, it’s a steal.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sault Ste. Marie, Canada
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Good food, close quarters, busy & rather noisy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

We visited Georgia Brown's in October 2012. We stayed at The Madison, so it was just down the street. We didn't have a reservation, but were seated immediately. The service was great and the food was really good. My husband had the pork chop and I had gumbo & collard greens. Interesting ceiling decor. The only downsides were that the tables along the banquette are too close together - if I wanted to, I could touch the person at the next table, and since it was Saturday evening, it was noisy. The table next to us was beside a high traffic zone. Two couples were seated at that table and left because of the traffic back & forth right beside their table. If I could make a suggestion to the management it would be to remove that table and put more space between the remaining tables.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upper Hutt
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Great Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

We went there twice and both nights had a table outside. Great food and lots of it - try the Salmon, it's yummy!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Georgia Brown's also viewed

 

Been to Georgia Brown's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Georgia Brown's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.