We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mediocre” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Dubliner Restaurant and Pub

Dubliner Restaurant and Pub
520 N Capitol St. NW, Washington DC, DC 20001-1510 (Downtown / Chinatown)
202-737-3773
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #291 of 2,710 Restaurants in Washington DC
Price range: $30 - $50
Cuisines: Irish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: Downtown / Chinatown
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
194 reviews 194 reviews
119 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 77 cities Reviews in 77 cities
213 helpful votes 213 helpful votes
“Mediocre”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

Many years ago, when we were visiting Syracuse, New York, my wife and I had dinner at a "famous authentic Irish pub" called Coleman's. I don't remember much about that dinner--this is certainly not intended as a review of that place--but I do know that on several return visits to/through Syracuse, we have not felt any urge to return to Coleman's.

I should have remembered all this history when we stumbled upon this sister pub in Washington, run by a member of the same family, and also billing itself as a "famous authentic Irish pub". Service was good, prices overall were reasonable, but that doesn't compensate for mushy fish and chips nor flavourless bread pudding nor the special dessert of the day, a Chocolate Cream Pie, that even the late Sara Lee would have rejected out of hand. The only good part of the meal was my wife's rich, creamy potato soup.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

494 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    156
    189
    97
    28
    24
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mount Pleasant, South Carolina
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Nice pub, poor food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

We were seated immediately around 6pm on a Friday and had a friendly and attentive waiter. The beer was great, but the food was poor. The hibernian chicken tasted leftover. Would not eat there again, but it's a nice Irish pub atmosphere for a drink.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vejle, Denmark
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Bad service”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

The food was ok, but the waitress was difficult to understand since she was mumbling, and overall she gave a really bad service.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Twentynine Palms, California
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“I liked it”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

Had the Fish and chips and a Black and Tan on a very busy Thursday night. Service was fast and friendly. Thoroughly enjoyed the meal. I liked the atmosphere. The seating is tight and the place seems smaller than it really is. Several friends swear by the Shepard's pie. I will absolutely visit again if the opportunity arises. An easy walk from several hotels in the area and Capitol hill.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Poor food with a side of attitude”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

I ate here for lunch and had to wait a good half hour for a table of four at 2:30pm on a Saturday afternoon. I didnt mind the wait but overall I wasnt impressed with the attitude of the service staff. My beer glass was covered in leftover food from the last diner and my burger was cold and burnt. Its hard to advertise the best burger on capitol hill on your menu when it looks like a hockey puck. Anyway, I wont be returning here as none of the meals ordered by our table were that good. As well, the service staff were far from apologetic from the mishaps of the meal. In fact, everyone that worked here seemed to have a bit of an attitude. Next time, I will try the other Irish pub next door.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dubliner Restaurant and Pub also viewed

 
Washington DC, DC
 

Been to Dubliner Restaurant and Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dubliner Restaurant and Pub, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.