We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stellar Dining Experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of 1789 Restaurant

1789 Restaurant
1226 36th St NW, Washington DC, DC 20007-2627 (Georgetown)
+1 202-965-1789
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
1789 Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #15 of 2,494 Restaurants in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $50 - $85
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse, Bar, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Entertaining clients, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Private Dining, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Neighborhood: Georgetown
Cross street: Prospect & 36th Streets
Description: An upscale institution sitting on a quiet residential street in Georgetown, 1789 Restaurant has the charm of a historic country inn. Servicing classic and contemporary American cuisine, Executive Chef Sam Kim's contemporary, seasonal menu blends the flavors of fresh regional ingredients into unique and delicious dishes. Pastry Chef Ryan Westover takes a modern twist on classic desserts. Awards and Recognition: 2013 Wine Spectator Award of Excellence Zagat Top Ratings in Food, Service, Decor, and Most Popular DiRona Award Winner 3 Stars from 2012 Washingtonian magazine
Marietta, Georgia
Top Contributor
136 reviews 136 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
“Stellar Dining Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

I chose 1789 to celebrate my husband's birthday, based on the many favorable reviews and write-ups. All well-deserved as it turns out! We enjoyed the unique history of the property and decor. The service was excellent from the moment we walked in the door. Very warm and friendly staff. While the beautifully carved wooden bar is somewhat small, they served us cocktails at a dining table nearby before seating us with our guests in the Manassas room. Nice ambience everywhere.
So many wonderful sounding choices on the menu! Carpaccio with freshly shaved white truffles was amazing! Scallops with osetra caviar too. Great bottle of Chateuneuf de Pape. Highly recommend this restaurant for special occasions, or just because you want great food.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

415 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    247
    94
    51
    17
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Milan, Italy
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“My favourite restaurant in the heart of Georgetown”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013

Had an esquisite dinner out with a very nice red wine here! I would recomend an after dinner walk down to the pier of Georgetown and enjoy the quiet night there!
Really, one of the best restaurants in town

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orinda, California
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013 via mobile

We had Thanksgiving dinner in the early afternoon. This an iconic place on the edge of Georgetown University. Rack of lamb was excellent and service was superb. Highly recommend.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Good service, lovely decor, quality food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2013

I loved my dining experience here. The location in G-town is ideal as it's off the main road, but there are NO views to speak of. the place is very nicely decorated with an old world feel. The staff were great, attentive (though they were very busy). The ham entree believe it or not was the best ham I've ever had in my life and that is saying something for sure. The coffee and lattes were delicious too. The only issue I had was that we were seated near the the front door which they left open at times making it quite cold. Make sure you ask for a table away from the bar (a bit noisy) and the front door (a bit cold) and impacted the ambience.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“dining at its finest”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

that's partially true, they're accommodating, right down to hailing a cab and hanging up coats, i think the fault is that the menu, apparently daily but this week the same two days in a row, isn't explained on the menu or to the diners. Brussels sprouts salad, a favorite is served raw and chopped up like a slaw with pinenuts, add lemon to cut the vinegar, and the main course, a ham ravioli looked more like a meatball, I didn't want to ask what it was for fear it was moose or elk, but no, it was ham or as the maitre de described it, pork shoulder. i enjoyed the evening and i enjoyed server Troy, but as the one party without a special occasion to celebrate, a bit ordinary and that's not what i usually feel, since i came here in 1789 (seems like it), it's the best in DC.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed 1789 Restaurant also viewed

 
Washington DC, DC
 

Been to 1789 Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage 1789 Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.