We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best restaurant in Woodley Park.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tono Sushi

Tono Sushi
2605 Connecticut Ave NW, Washington DC, DC 20008-1522 (Upper Northwest)
202-332-7300
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #607 of 2,494 Restaurants in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $29 - $31
Cuisines: Japanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Delivery, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Upper Northwest
Cross street: Calvert St
Transit: Metro rail (Red Line)Woodley Park/Zoo/Adams Morgan Station across from the restaurant and Metro bus stop in front of a Restaurant L2,91,92,X3.
Description: Whether you're a true lover of sushi, or just a novice, Tono Sushi has what you're looking for. In addition to what we feature on our regular lunch and dinner menus, we always have daily and weekly specials from both our kitchen and our adventurous sushi chefs. Come in and enjoy a variety of noodle soups, teriyakis, yakitori, and of course the freshest sushi and sashimi available. Happy Hours $1.00 sushi per piece from 5pm to 7:30pm daily.
Maryville, Tennessee
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Best restaurant in Woodley Park.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013 via mobile

We were in Washington DC for four days of site seeing between Christmas and New Years. Staying at the Omni Shoreham, we decided to try Tono Sushi for dinner one night. We soon found that this place was wonderful! Everyone who waited on us was so very helpful and nice. They have a great variety of Asian food besides sushi! Good selection of drinks (beer,wine,saki) are also available. Don't miss out on their happy hour sushi(very affordable )! Can't say enough about Tono Sushi! We ate there several times during our stay!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    35
    16
    7
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Arlington, Virginia
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great sushi rolls - nice, casual Japanese/Asian hybrid restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

I love the various sushi rolls here -- they're fresh, delicious, and fairly priced. Service is friendly and good. The wait staff could be a bit more attentive, but, overall, the service is quite acceptable. The atmosphere is casual and laid back. This isn't a high-end sushi restaurant. Rather, it's a nice neighborhood hybrid Japanese/Asian restaurant that seems to do most things pretty well.

The only significant flaw I can think of is the upstairs dining area. If you get seated up there (because the downstairs is full), it can feel a bit isolated and dull.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elma, Washington
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Excellent Sushi AND Thai”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012 via mobile

This is an absolutely wonderful hybrid restaurant with free wifi. The rolls were fresh and large and very appetizing. I tried several rolls, the red curry and the pad thai and they not disappoint. This will be the first restaurant I visit whenever I return to DC.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
191 reviews 191 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“dinner twice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

We had dinner twice in this restaurant. The rolls are very good but also the bento box we had. It is possible to have dinner outside on the terrace

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
352 reviews 352 reviews
234 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 103 cities Reviews in 103 cities
189 helpful votes 189 helpful votes
“Good food, nice portions”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

Tono Sushi is a neighborhood restaurant and has been recommended by some Japanese friends so we figured it should be ok. The outdoor section looked quite comfortable, although it is right in front of a bus stop. The indoor section was rather dark and I felt the tables, most of them set to seat 1 or 2 people, were too close together for comfort. We got there at around 6 pm on a balmy Friday night and all the diners seemed to be seated outside and we took one of the last tables. They had $1 per piece happy hour sushi, however this price only applies to a list of about ten specially priced types and none of them looked very appealing. So we just ordered from the regular menu, age tofu, shrimp and vegetable tempura platter, and a sushi and sashimi combo dinner. Both entrees came with a small dish of soy pickled bean sprouts and miso soup which were nothing special. However, the age tofu was very tasty, very crisp on the outside, and the portion was larger than other restaurants (6 versus 4 pieces). Both entrees were well presented, the size of the sashimi pieces were quite substantial, and the tempura platter was huge, with 5 pieces of shrimp and 10+ pieces of a variety of vegetables (my favorite were the string beans, sweet potato and mushroom). At $22 for the sashimi combo and $14 for the tempura dinner, it wasn’t cheap and the there didn’t seem to be any happy hour prices for the drinks. But it was a good meal as far as food quality was concerned. I could see myself going back again but not sure if I’d ever want to sit indoors.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tono Sushi also viewed

 

Been to Tono Sushi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tono Sushi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.