We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty GOOD!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lauriol Plaza

Lauriol Plaza
1835 18TH St NW Ste S, Washington DC, DC 20009-5526 (Dupont Circle)
(202) 387-0035
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #368 of 2,562 Restaurants in Washington DC
Price range: $20 - $35
Cuisines: Mexican, Caribbean, Salvadoran, South American, Central American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Families with children, Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Neighborhood: Dupont Circle
Los Angeles, CA
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Pretty GOOD!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014 credit card Amex Card Member Review

I rate this a 4 because I went TWICE. The first time was phenomenal with an A PLUS serving staff. The food/drinks were exquisite and I really enjoyed the entire experience. The 2nd time (in the same week) we did not get so luck. Mediocre staff, food quality shifted, etc. I will still go back to give it a GO!

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

431 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    146
    151
    80
    35
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Price/quality ratio unbeatable”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013 via mobile

I used to go to this restaurant during my DC years. Now, it has bought a new, more spacious restaurant and abandoned the old premises. It also boasts a valet parking for just 5 bucks! The foos is delicious and the service is excellent. Be advised that going after 7pm implies a long queue (up to 1 hour). Fajitas, frijoles and enchiladas are very nice and tasty. Highly recommended

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Georgia
1 review
“Very Authentic”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013

While visiting D.C i find this place on google.The food here was good,very authentic.The service was good too.Only thing minus was the long wait but it was worth after having good food.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedar Falls, Iowa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good food, good price, good times.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Whenever my wife and I are in DC, we grab a bite to eat here. The prices are good, the food is great, and the atmosphere fantastic.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa, Oklahoma
1 review
“Good Tex-Mex, Good Margaritas”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

Lauriol Plaza is ALWAYS packed, but it has good food, and great frozen ritas. It's one of the few places in DC that serves up margaritas like they do in Texas (meaning, frozen, in a "slurpee" machine - not the even better way of high quality tequila with a bit of lime juice). It's worth the trip, just be prepared to wait. Cactus Cantina is more family friendly.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lauriol Plaza also viewed

Washington DC, DC
 

Been to Lauriol Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lauriol Plaza, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.