We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good times at Lauriol Plaza” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lauriol Plaza

Lauriol Plaza
1835 18TH St NW Ste S, Washington DC, DC 20009-5526 (Dupont Circle)
(202) 387-0035
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #311 of 2,495 Restaurants in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $20 - $35
Cuisines: Mexican, Caribbean, Salvadoran, Central American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene, Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Neighborhood: Dupont Circle
Washington DC, District of Columbia, USA
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Good times at Lauriol Plaza”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

I took my wife here for her birthday and we enjoyed our time. Both of us got the Lomo Saltado and were quite satisfied. The dish has some really flavorul meat, and comes with plantains, tomatoes, peppers, onions, and tiny little french fries which soak up the meat juices and are tasty. The meal comes with a spicy green sauce, which tastes good both with the meat and the veggies. The rice, while ordinary looking, was really flavorful and we also liked the beans.

The restaurant is large and the atmosphere indoors is lively, but we didn't have to shout to hear each other at the table. We brought our newborn with us and parked her in her car seat on the floor and it wasn't an issue. The service was friendly and helpful.

We went on a Thursday night. The line was long when we arrived, but it moves pretty quick and we got a seat for two (plus baby) within 10 to 15 minutes. The parking was full, but we found a spot a few blocks away.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

405 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    139
    139
    75
    35
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
D.C.
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“EXCELLENT Food, Great Value!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

While it can be a bit inconsistent and does tend to get EXTREMELY crowded on the weekend, Lauriol Plaza has been a go-to for us for well over a decade.

The guacamole is out of this world, masitas de puerco, enchiladas mariscos, bistec cubano and red sangria are all excellent!

Stay away from most of the "Mexican" dishes and you'll be fine!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Top Contributor
166 reviews 166 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“Too Crowded and Noisy for Average Food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

Decent Tex Mex, but the atmosphere is awful. The tables are small and they are crowded into the dining room. Seems the management is trying to maximize capacity, and the result is uncomfortable closeness to total strangers! The food was decent, portions were large, and service was fast. If you don't have a reservation on a weekend night, you will be waiting a long time for a table. This place seems really popular, but I did not find the food exceptional. Add the incredible noise level to the mix and it made for a long evening. The drinks and the desserts, however, are really good.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
169 reviews 169 reviews
165 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“There are way way better choices”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013 via mobile

1. They act like they are doing yOu a favor by allowing you to eat here.

2. We order apps that came out with the main course. What is this a coffee shop.

3. Food is ok. Not great. There is far better Mexican.

4. Service is neither good or friendly

5 the place itself is a machine. Turn out average food ASAP

6. Desert is blah. Skip it

Find a better joint there are plenty

  • Visited June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hillsborough, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Great grub”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

I visited this restaurant on Tuesday, June 4 and it was jammed packed. I love crowded restaurants, which usually is a good sign for good food - yummy. I had the chicken ench. and a great margarita. We dined outside on the rooftop bar. Prices were fair and a great vibe. I'll return to this place.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lauriol Plaza also viewed

Washington DC, DC
 

Been to Lauriol Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lauriol Plaza, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.