We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good lunch stop” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Madhatter

Madhatter
1831 M St NW, Washington DC, DC 20036-2514 (Connecticut Ave/ K Street)
(202) 833-1495
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Madhatter is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #864 of 2,562 Restaurants in Washington DC
Price range: $29 - $31
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Connecticut Ave/ K Street
Boulder, CO
Level Contributor
106 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Good lunch stop”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013 via mobile

I stopped here for a quick weekday lunch and ate well but not too quickly. Service seemed more distracted than slow and it took several requests to finally get the beverage I ordered. The meal order came quickly however, so I enjoyed a good chicken gyro. I'll return for the food and the friendly waitstaff, but I'll wait for an time when my schedule is less tight.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    22
    11
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“great brunch/ fun atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

Our group was looking for a great place to have a fun but casual brunch. We found it!
Food was great and reasonable. Waiter was fun...he actually seemed happy to be at work.
Half of our party chose the bloody mary bar....NICE..and the other did the Mimosas. Waiter
actually left the entire bottle of champagne on the table.....very convenient!
This resturant was recomended by a local college student and he was right.
We will be back on our next trip!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
77 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“excellent burgers”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

Ate there (take out) memorial day weekend, 2013,,, had a burger and fries,, and the burger was excellent!!
cool environment, ,,ordered at the bar an the female bartender was very nice
bought my son a shirt , think was 21$ , nice and soft

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KL, Malaysia
Level Contributor
363 reviews
174 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 242 helpful votes
“Great for a casual low-key dinner out”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

Went for dinner once, the food was good, especially since it was relatively cheap. The service could've been better but nothing major to complain about. Loved the decor and atmosphere. I'd recommend it for a casual, no-fuss night out.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waldorf, Maryland
Level Contributor
35 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Worst Brunch Ever!!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

My friend and I go to brunch every Sunday when I’m home. We have been to places all over the DMV. We had reservations and was seated promptly. My waiter Taylor was terrible and he didn’t even invoke any confidence that he knew what he was doing. We ordered drinks and before we could say another word. He walked off. We sat there looking disgruntled because the manager noticed walking by and asked if we need any help and drinks. We informed her that Taylor took our drink ordered and we wanted to order. She went get Taylor, but low and behold he was on his way back with our drinks. We placed our order of Tweedle Dee Tidbits, french toast, fried chicken and waffles, and two sides of scrambled eggs with cheddar cheese. Taylor asked if we wanted the Tweedle Dee Tidbits before our entrees and I said yes. Well it did come out before the entrees like 15 seconds, I didn’t even get a bite before the entrees hit the table. The fried chicken had been refried, it was greasy and overcooked. The waffle was the quality of staying at a hotel that you make your own waffles but it tasted terrible Hampton Inns was better. My eggs didn’t have any cheese and I informed Taylor he took them back and brought them back saying the cook said they it was mixed in, no cheese was mixed in and I looked throughly. My friend said the french toast was average. I was so disgusted with the food except the Tweedle Dee Tidbits they were actually delicious. I just wanted to pay and leave but that didn’t go well either. Taylor clean off the dishes for my friend and then we waited for over 30mins just to get the check because we never saw him again. It was so long the manager noticed after 25mins and asked us what was the problem. We finally got the check I paid and left hungry. I will never go back and I don’t even understand how this place got a good rating for brunch. I could possibly see lunch or dinner as the Tweedle Dee Tidbits were delicious, but the service and the food sucked big time. I will not be going back and I don’t recommend anyone else going either.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Madhatter also viewed

 
Washington DC, DC
 

Been to Madhatter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Madhatter, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.