We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The worst service ever!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Occidental Grill

Occidental Grill
1475 Pennsylvania Ave NW, Washington DC, DC 20004 (Downtown / Chinatown)
+1 202-783-1475
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Occidental Grill is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #331 of 2,623 restaurants in Washington DC
Price range: $25 - $50
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Outdoor seating
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Private Dining
Dining style: Fine Dining
Neighborhood: Downtown / Chinatown
Cross street: 14th
Transit: Metrocenter 13 & F
Description: Known for serving some of the best steaks and seafood in DC, the Occidental is a favorite dining destination for Washington, DC locals and visitors alike. The historic photo collection of hundreds of leaders, insiders and celebrities lines the walls, dating back to 1906 and marking the celebrated popularity of this renowned local landmark.
1 review
“The worst service ever!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

We decided to sit outside for lunch at the Occidental on a Saturday afternoon. The menu was very expensive but it was the experience and the sights. It did appear to be short staffed, we had to wait 20 minutes to be seated, with many open tables. It took another 12 minutes to be greeted by a waiter, another 10 for drink orders then it took 15 to get the drinks. Most of us ordered bottomless Mimosas which turned out to be 4 small glasses. Our waiter just stopped coming to our table. It took 30 minutes for our food to come out which was good, but not 19.00 a hamburger good. They even forgot to make one friends lunch, which they did comp. good thing we were not on a time schedule . I think the worst part was the nerve to charge a 20% gratuity on the worst service in the city. Thinking back we probably should not have tipped at all, the service was that bad. Save your money and go somewhere else.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

278 reviews from our community

71% Recommend
    107
    90
    39
    26
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toms River, New Jersey
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Great Lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013 via mobile

Had just finished my 4 hour drive to DC and was staying at the Willard Intercontinental so decided to eat here which is part of the hotel. We had dinner here in October 2011 and it was great. The seared yellowfin tuna salad was great. Yes at $26 a bit proxy but it's worth it. The salad consisted of asparagus and wax beens with some house made ricotta and a Meyer lemon vinaigrette which was all very very good but the star here was the tuna. Service was attentive and excellent and the outdoor setting in Pennsylvania Avenue made for quite the people watching. Definitely recommended.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“You'd be mad to eat anywhere else”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

The service is good, the ambience is pleasant, but the reason you go to the Occidental is the food. If you're in DC and can afford it then you would be mad to eat anywhere else. I've been dreaming about the butter poached lobster for weeks - it is literally the best thing I have ever tasted. The only negative is that from an Australian point of view it's bizarre to have a TV showing sports in an upmarket restaurant - but maybe this is just the way things are done in the US. Thank you to whoever the magician is in the kitchen for one of the greatest meals of my life.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“Beaufiful setting/horrible food/mediocre service”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013 via mobile

Beautiful setting. Mediocre service. Way too overpriced for what it is. My partner ordered the pork and at least 70% was just fat. The food took forever and after talking to the manager they did take the pork off our bill but if you are paying $50 for a steak i would expect a whole lot better from them.

Washington dc has a lot of great restaurants go somehwere else.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Crab Cake Heaven”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

Occidental is a "very DC" place - I always suggest it when visitors are looking for good, solid (if unadventurous) American food in a non-chain "only in DC" setting. In the Willard Hotel complex, the setting is historic and impressive. Its outdoor patio also gives a nice view of the main Treasury building and Pershing Park.

For me, Occidental is my go-to place for when I want comfort food - which, for me, means crab cakes and an indulgent dessert. Can we talk about the crab cakes for a second? AMAZING. In fact, only rarely do I order anything at Occidental other than crab cakes (every once in a while, I order the crab/salmon cake, usually served as an open-faced sandwich), but my dining companions have good things to say about the other dishes, like pasta, fish, meats, etc. The menu is varied - lots of choices for pretty much anyone. But for those with shellfish-friendly diets, I would highly recommend the crab cakes. :)

There is also a lovely event space upstairs, with a historic glass elevator and a great view of the Washington Monument. I threw a big birthday party for myself up there last year and found the staff very good to deal with.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Occidental Grill also viewed

Washington DC, DC
Washington DC, DC
 

Been to Occidental Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Occidental Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.