We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“service was plenty, but then non-existant” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Bombay Club Restaurant

Bombay Club Restaurant
815 Connecticut Ave NW Ste 302, Washington DC, DC 20006-4004 (Dupont Circle)
(202) 659-3727
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Bombay Club Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #98 of 2,562 Restaurants in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $40 - $60
Cuisines: French, Indian, Bistro
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Doing business
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Neighborhood: Dupont Circle
Cross street: Between H & I Streets
Transit: Farragut West & Farragut North Metro Lines
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
174 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“service was plenty, but then non-existant”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

There were so many servers in this tiny restaurant we were overwhelmed, until we needed them and then there were none to be found. We asked for suggestions on the menu based on a couple mild-curry requests and were led a bit off base. They need to realize that we need a good 15 minutes to pick up on Indian names for food and what goes into them and how we should order. Confusing. Unfriendly and not very patient. Once the food arrived, the staff disappeared. We didn't get the bread we ordered but by the time they returned, the meal was over. Disappointing overall.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

332 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    181
    86
    32
    22
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Arlington VA
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Classical Class Topped by Unquestioning Responsiveness”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

The Bombay Club is well knows for capturing a rich dimension of one time in Indian history. Anyone who has every entered into that world, even a a guest, will recognize it immediately -- certainly in the decor but also in the civilized tone set by the staff and it skilled, sensitive manager.
I love the Bombay Club and go there regularly for all these reasons. However, there is a further reasn for believing that it is in a very rare league. When one asks for a new dish that the restaurant does not have on the menu, no one blinks an eye. Te new dish comes -- and in a excellent as the rest. How many places of any sort can one say that of today?

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Good food, good service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

I can't be particularly critical here because it was my first experience with Indian food in a restaurant. So I can only state my opinion that the food was very good and very flavorful. The service was great. Overall, very pleased.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
53 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“AS IF the Bombay Club needs another positive review!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

The Bombay Club has given itself a fabulous renovation and I hear the menu has changed a bit, but it's still a super Indian restaurant. I am actually writing the review to give a shout out to the dal Makhni, which is a concoction of black lentils, ginger, tomato, and garlic, simmered for 16 hours. Today is Thursday and I ate this on Sunday. I am still thinking about it.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horsham, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
78 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Excellent food. Excellent Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

I had the pleasure of taking my dad and his wife to dinner at the Bombay Club on a recent trip to DC. The atmosphere was reserved yet energized. The decor was understated elegant. The service was impeccable and the food splendid. Need I say more?

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bombay Club Restaurant also viewed

Washington DC, DC
 
Washington DC, DC
 

Been to Bombay Club Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bombay Club Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.