We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Slipping” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bombay Club Restaurant

Bombay Club Restaurant
815 Connecticut Ave NW Ste 302, Washington DC, DC 20006-4004 (Dupont Circle)
(202) 659-3727
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Bombay Club Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #98 of 2,562 Restaurants in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $40 - $60
Cuisines: French, Indian, Bistro
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Doing business
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Neighborhood: Dupont Circle
Cross street: Between H & I Streets
Transit: Farragut West & Farragut North Metro Lines
Cherry Hill, New Jersey
Level Contributor
125 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 170 helpful votes
“Slipping”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2011

Hopefully we hit is on an off night, but the restaurant appeared to be slipping. Food not quite as good, staffing not polished. Still good, but not the tiptop perfect experience it once was.

  • Visited October 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

331 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    181
    86
    31
    22
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
146 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Great vegetarian food here”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2011

We've been twice to this Indian restaurant in our 4 night stay in Washington. Whilst it's not a vegetarian restaurant it has a good vegetarian menu within it. Service and atmosphere brilliant as well.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annandale, Virginia
Level Contributor
127 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“A lovely meal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2011

I visited this restaurant a week ago with a colleague, and on the way got caught in a sudden downpour with no umbrella. I was a little nervous to enter, given our current state of wet, and some of the previous reviews, but the host, and wait staff could not have been move pleasant and gracious.

We were seated in a small round booth, and immediately offered drinks, which were delivered quickly. We each choose a tasting platter, so we could try a variety of their food. We also got a bread basket.. I think it was the onion Kulcha that was so delicious.. I don't usually go for Indian breads, but this one was something worth writing about!
The food overall was very good, and again, the waitstaff was great. They did not hover, but were always right there when we needed anything.

The restaurant itself is quite beautiful... a white piano with a pianist playing delicate background music. It was a great place to sit and chat.. we chatted LONG after we had finished eating, and never once felt any pressure to leave.

A note about visiting in fall of 2011... the restaurant is underneath the current construction going on, and we missed it on the first walk by.

  • Visited October 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
54 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Snobby beyond belief. Please, this is curry, not elegant cuisine!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2011

We would have loved to have eaten at the Bombay Club. We really would have, but for the horrible snobbery of the staff there. With plenty of open tables on a Friday night, we were told there was "just no way" we could be seated. While we were dressed well, clearly upscale clientele, the snobby host apparently felt we weren't desirable in his restaurant. We weren't indicated we could be seated, we weren't provided with a reasonable time to predict, nor did he indicate we could be on the wait list. He didn't invite us to sit in the bar, nor seem interested in having us eat. Having eaten at the city's best restaurants, I was surprised to find this pretentious, overdressed, curry place show us the hand. We'll stick to real mughal cuisine, thanks very much.

  • Visited September 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
281 reviews
189 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 272 helpful votes
“Very Good Food, Great Service and Ambiance”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2011

Bombay Club is my favorite Indian restaurant in DC. I certainly haven't tried them all, but so far, it's the winner. Other reviews give them lower marks for the fact that it is expensive and the menu is limited to standard Indian fare, and if something more edgy and creative is what you are looking for, this may not be your place. Yes, the prices are fairly high, but the location, ambiance and quality of service are primarily what drives that higher price. I like the elegant decor and the cordial but formal attitude of the waitstaff. I also like the old standard Indian dishes, so Bombay Club wins my vote.

I've eaten there many times and never experienced any of the problems with service and/or food quality described in some of the negative reviews. Several of those reviews described problems with Sunday brunch, or snooty waiters who didn't welcome kids, etc. In my experience, Sunday brunch is rarely when any restaurant is at its peak, and it's not necessarily uncommon for restaurants of this quality to show a certain disdain for people who bring young children.

Because I like the more traditional dishes and the elegant atmosphere, I rate it higher than Rasika, although Rasika is very good. I just like Bombay Club a little more.

  • Visited February 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bombay Club Restaurant also viewed

Washington DC, DC
 
Washington DC, DC
 

Been to Bombay Club Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bombay Club Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.