We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love this place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Irelands Four Provinces

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Irelands Four Provinces
3412 Connecticut Ave. NW, Washington DC, DC 20008 (Upper Northwest)
(202) 244-0860
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #1,797 of 2,563 Restaurants in Washington DC
Price range: $20 - $20
Cuisines: Irish, British, Pub
Neighborhood: Upper Northwest
Restaurant details
Neighborhood: Upper Northwest
Falls Church, Virginia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Love this place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

Food here is always great and Chef Will Artley is a rock star & a gentleman. Also he is always great with our kids... Inviting them up to the counter by where the pizzas are made to give them dough to play with and show them how it's done. My only criticism is that while I like the pizza I just wish the dough did not taste like sourdough. :( we will keep coming back for sure. Hope you do too!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

8 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1
    4
    1
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wheaton, Maryland, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“RIP Four Provinces”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

I went to the zoo last week and noticed that Four Provinces was replaced by some unmemorable restaurant. I went to the Four Provinces a few times and I cannot say I'm surprised that it closed as the food was Meh and the beer was overpriced.

If you need a fix and your in this area; head across the street and go to Nanny O'Brien's. It is cheaper and the food is far better than this plae was.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fernandina Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
90 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Not there any more”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

A neighborhood landmark has folded - it was a favorite for years, but like all good things has come to an end. Ratings below are based on visits over a long period of time.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
446 reviews
313 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 184 helpful votes
“Great Irish pub in DC, Cleveland Park metro stop”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2011

Not sure why there's only 4 reviews for this place, but despite the name it is commonly known as "4 P's" around DC. I have also heard from my friend who lives in the area that it might be closing, but hopefully that is not the case! Haven't eaten here but it is a great place to go for a drink or two. Usually has live music and a big projection screen with ESPN on. Also has $14 pitcher specials everyday with various drafts, I recommend the 4 P's Amber! There are dart boards in the back and plenty of sitting and standing room. Service is usually pretty good for how big it is. Also right next to the Cleveland Park metro stop on the Red line, so not hard to get to without a car. Definitely recommended.

  • Visited December 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DC
1 review
“Great atmosphere- friendly for newbies and regulars alike!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2009

This is one of my favorite Irish bars in the city. The food is decent, the beer is good, and the liquor is inexpensive. The service is hit or miss- most of the waitresses are completely useless but the two waiters are quite good. The bartenders are a better bet in terms of quality across the board- I especially like the redhead who seems to work almost every night. The Wed Quiz Night is a hoot, and place has live music Fri and Sat. A great place to stop if you are in the neighborhood.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Irelands Four Provinces also viewed

 
Washington DC, DC
 

Been to Irelands Four Provinces? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Irelands Four Provinces, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.