We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tex-Mex Food in a VERY Noisy Setting” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Cactus Cantina

Cactus Cantina
3300 Wisconsin Ave NW, Washington DC, DC 20016-3808 (Upper Northwest)
202-686-7222
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #427 of 2,562 Restaurants in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $15
Cuisines: Mexican, Southwestern
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Neighborhood: Upper Northwest
vickistrips
Level Contributor
42 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Tex-Mex Food in a VERY Noisy Setting”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

I wish I could give this restaurant a better rating but the noise level inside during a recent Friday night dinner was so overwhelming, I had to scream to be heard by the other ladies at my table.

Not fun, not pleasing, not even so-so.

If we had eaten outdoors, PERHAPS the whole evening could have been saved but every table was already full outside on a lovely spring evening. Now I know why.

The food was barely okay for all three of us with three different meals but the overall experience was so uncomfortable, I doubt I'll ever go back there to eat. My mom liked her frozen margarita and hated her meal (the grilled shrimp was burned black and stuck to her plate). I had a so-so salad with grilled chicken (which I couldn't even eat - zero flavor).

I ate at this restaurant about ten years ago (when President Bush was known to show up now and again) but it just doesn't show the same attention to detail these days.

I probably won't ever return.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

209 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    72
    77
    45
    11
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Upstate New York
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Outstanding Tex-Mex!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Returned to this restaurant on a recent trip to DC with family. I was not disappointed at all to find the service, food, and atmosphere hadnt changed a bit. Excellent Tex-Mex. Worth the drive down Wisconsin Avenue.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
42 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Just average”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013 via mobile

Nothing special about this place. Was just ok. Salsa was very bland and boring. You can get much better for your $

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level Contributor
164 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Classic Tex-Mex”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

We have eaten here several times, both for fun as we well as to have casual business meetings. The food is always well prepared. The nachos as an appetizer or dinner for one are my favorite. They are done as individual chips and the steak ones are fantastic. Margaritas are always good!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
Level Contributor
52 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Delicious and lots of fun!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

Terrific Mexican food with great atmosphere and service! 7 of us had a wonderful dinner there. The Monterey salad is one of the best salads I have ever had! Crunchy and fresh with a peanutty vinaigrette dressing = yum! Chips and salsa are plentiful and delicious. Several people had fajitas and they were great. The restaurant was nice and large - plenty of room for big groups. Looks like it has great outdoor space, but it was cold and windy when we were there so nobody was outside. Can't wait to go back!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cactus Cantina also viewed

Washington DC, DC
 
Washington DC, DC
 

Been to Cactus Cantina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cactus Cantina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.