We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great shrimp & lobster pasta” 3 of 5 stars
Review of McCormick & Schmick

McCormick & Schmick
1652 K St NW, Washington DC, DC 20006-2801 (Dupont Circle)
(202) 861-2233
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
McCormick & Schmick is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #923 of 2,768 Restaurants in Washington DC
Price range: $31 - $40
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Doing business, Entertaining clients, Bar scene, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Dupont Circle
Cross street: Between 16th and 17th on "K" Street
Transit: Located near the Farragut North (Red Line) and Farragut West (Orange/Blue Line) Metro stops.
Gardner, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great shrimp & lobster pasta”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

My wife and i were looking for restaurant to have dinner in a hurry because it was late ( a Tuesday night ) and didn't have a specific place to go , so we found this place close to our hotel and just went in , end it up having a nice dinner , service was acceptable and prices were kind of expensive $ 90 bucks with the tip included for two entrees and 3 glass of chardonnay , lot of seafood and steaks in the menu .( my wife found her food cold but at the same time we were the last costumers in the place )

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

362 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    85
    120
    80
    45
    32
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cobleskill, New York, United States
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Group Dinner Out”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

Food was good, but the service was very slow. We had good wines - Fess Parker Chardonnay, Hess Reserve Chardonnay.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zürich
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Empty for a reason”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

Uh oh. When a restaurant located across from D.C.'s spy museum and in an area teeming with tourists is almost completely empty on a Saturday afternoon at 1 pm, something's up. Here's what it was: horrific service and depressingly bad food. We've eaten at McCormick & Schmick in Seattle and it's fantastic, but in D.C. they literally missed the boat. Our waitress seemed unfamiliar with the idea of waitressing, but we gave her the benefit of the doubt because you should, right? But after it took her 30 minutes to bring bread and 45 minutes--this is in an empty restaurant, remember--for our main dishes (which we had to ask after) and which only consisted of a simple spaghetti dish, a salad and some raw fish (by the way, she said it was the SALAD we were waiting on), we finally expressed our polite displeasure. Her immediate response: I'll send the manager over. The manager did come over and she was very nice, but unfortunately she arrived about the time our food did and I'm pretty sure she caught our dazzled expressions as we realized our food was made entirely from rubber. Rubber tuna; rubber scampi; rubber salad. Here's the good news: she comped me the rubber tuna. I thought that was very nice and I appreciated her good will, although she seemed to think that maybe we just didn't know seafood since we're from Seattle, which as anyone knows, is nowhere near the ocean. Oh well. The Spy Museum was great.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Palm Beach, Florida
Top Contributor
149 reviews 149 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“Enjoyed our company more than the food!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

We attended a private dinner here which was quite enjoyable, primarily because of our company. Our service was also great! The food was good, but just average in my opinion. I had a salad, salmon and apple pie dessert, the dessert was the best. The house Pinot Noir was surprisingly good, I would order this again. It is often difficult to find restaurants with private rooms and this was a definite positive for this location.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse, NY
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Eh”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

So we arrived in DC at our hotel, Courtyard, acorss the street from this restauarant at 9pm with impending rain. Not wanting to travel far, seafood lovers reading the canopies of clams, oysters, etc., we ventured over. Service was very good, although communication was tough with our waitress' accent. We had a dish with an array of seafood, which was goood, but nothing to match the price charged. Dirty dish, knife, and later mold found in the salt (Chef Ramsey needs to help them there). Not good value, definitely not the cleanest spot in town and food nothing spectacular. Eh..not going back.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed McCormick & Schmick also viewed

 

Been to McCormick & Schmick? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage McCormick & Schmick, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.