We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not Fancy - Just Fabulous!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mama Ayesha Restaurant

Mama Ayesha Restaurant
1967 Calvert St NW, Washington DC, DC 20009-1501 (Adams Morgan)
(202) 232-5431
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Mama Ayesha Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #334 of 2,564 Restaurants in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $18 - $18
Cuisines: African, Middle Eastern
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Buffet, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Adams Morgan
Cross street: Biltmore St
Transit: A few minutes walking distance from the Woodley Park/Adams Morgan/ Zoo Metro Station
Chapel Hill, NC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Not Fancy - Just Fabulous!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

Excellent delicious food, authentic atmosphere, reasonably priced, excellent service.
Best rice I've ever had. Wonderful experience. Will definately go back.
Don't let the outside fool you - its a gem on the inside.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    28
    15
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
62 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Almost as good as my Lebanese food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012 via mobile

But in DC, I don't have my kitchen or the family recipes. Their raw kibbeh is actually better than mine, and pretty much every dish I have had in 6 visits over the past 10 years has been great. The wine list and the service are also standouts.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salmiyah, Kuwait
Level Contributor
53 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Middle Eastern Homecooking”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

If you are ready to move beyond hummos and tabbouleh, try Mama Ayesha's place. This is the food that you would find on any Middle Eastern (the Levant area) kitchen table - simple and wholesome. The recipes are very authentic.

The only improvement to the restaurant would be to add more lighting. It was a little too dimly lit.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Needs to come into this Millenium”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

It reminded me of what fine dining might have been in the 1970s. No vegetables or salad came with my entre! Had to eat the parley to get something green.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
international
Level Contributor
167 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
“authentic middle eastern food cooked with love”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

I went here for lunch and wanted to have a mezze, but the mezze plate was only offered for a large group. The waiter agreed to make me my own mezze and it really hit the spot....the water fountain creates a soothing, unique feeling in an otherwise dark little room. Great food though!

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mama Ayesha Restaurant also viewed

Washington DC, DC
Washington DC, DC
 

Been to Mama Ayesha Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mama Ayesha Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.