We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sooooo good!!!! ” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Luke's Lobster

Luke's Lobster
1211 Potomac Street NW, Washington DC, DC 20007
+(1)2023334863
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #78 of 2,768 Restaurants in Washington DC
Price range: $8 - $38
Cuisines: Seafood
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch
Phoenix, Arizona
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Sooooo good!!!! ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014

When we first walked in I thought it was just a counter place but there are a few tables upstairs to sit. We ate here in Georgetown after kayaking, it was one of the tastiest meals of our whole trip! We are from Phoenix and do not have great lobster or crab rolls - these were the best!!!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    5
    2
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Kids are still talking about Luke's!! - good things!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014

Tripadvisor app helped us find Luke's Lobster last week. We were on M Street and wanted a simple lunch, but something different from Subway.

The reviews are correct. This is a simple location, just a half-block off from M Street and doesn't look like much when you first enter. Seating is available upstairs and downstairs.

As recommended here, I ordered the Lobster roll. My husband ordered the Maine sampler: lobster roll, shrimp roll, and crab roll. Our tween girls ordered the lobster grilled cheese sandwiches. We added chips to our orders and drinks. Our girls LOVED the simply made, organic soft drinks (Sasparilla especially).

All of it was SO GOOD and the meat was huge and fresh. What a great meal!! Our tummies were full late into dinner time (even after all of our touring).

Don't miss out! They have several locations and I'm sure they are just as good.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Folsom, California
Top Contributor
207 reviews 207 reviews
161 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 78 cities Reviews in 78 cities
136 helpful votes 136 helpful votes
“hole-in-the-wall with lots of lobster”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

My wife and I were walking the main street in Georgetown, looking for a place where we could eat a light dinner and not be swarmed by the Friday night life. Located a half-block off the main street on a side street, Luke's Lobster was the answer. Very small, with additional seating upstairs. Counter service with serve-yourself selection of non-alcoholic beverages from a glass-doored refrigerator. We both ordered the Lobster Bisque and shared one order of Lobster Roll served on a toasted bun. Plenty of lobster claws and chunks in both the bisque and the roll. We were very pleased with our light dinner choice. Just a hole-in-the-wall place, not somewhere you would go for a special occasion or a fancy dinner. Absolutely no attempt at decor. They serve lobster roll, crab roll, shrimp roll and variations on those themes. "Traveling the world one meal at a time..."

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olympia, Washington
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Best lobster in DC”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Forget a fancy seafood restaurant, Luke's is hands down the in DC. It's very casual, but makes for the perfect spring lunch.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fresh and Tasty!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2014

Walking around in Georgetown and stopped to have some seafood! WOW! Very tasty and obviously fresh. It was quite simply prepared, but that showcased the seafood taste. We had the "Taste of Maine" which included a 1/2 roll of each of lobster, shrimp and crab and 2 crab claws. Scrumptious! The rolls seemed to have been toasted with a hint of butter, so that added a nice touch and flavor as well. Not a cheap "snack", but well worth the $23!!! Would MOST definitely recommend it! Quaint charm ambiance as well.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Luke's Lobster also viewed

Washington DC, DC
Washington DC, DC
 
Washington DC, DC
 

Been to Luke's Lobster? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Luke's Lobster, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.