We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great mussels and flemish stew” 4 of 5 stars
Review of B Too

B Too
1324 14th Street NW, (Between N and Rhode Island Ave), Washington DC, DC 20005
+1 202-627-2800
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
B Too is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #52 of 2,564 Restaurants in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Belgian, European
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Brunch, Dinner, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Brunch, Dinner, Reservations
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
40 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great mussels and flemish stew”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

Comparable to Brasserie Beck. Probably provides a little better value. The flemish stew and mushroom waffle were standouts among the belgian places in DC. The beer list isn't quite as good as the competition.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    75
    53
    12
    4
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
91 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Delicious mussels, great beer selection”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2014 via mobile

Had a family Sunday dinner at B Too. Great Belgian beer selection. Mains were also delicious. Several unique entrees including stuffed quail, venison, and rabbit. I'd prefer less bacon in my rabbit dish and roasted Brussel sprouts. The prices were a bit steep and a server spilled some type of sauce on my jacket. I suspect it was accidental but nobody said anything so I got a gooey surprise when I put the jacket on.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Pete
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Wonderful in every way!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

My son (a DC resident) and daughter took me and a couple of other family members out for breakfast on Mother's Day, since we were all in town for a niece's wedding. He chose B Too! where he'd gone before with the bride and her fiance. It's definitely a place to return to. (In fact, the mother and father of the bride went right back for dinner that same night and said they were served the best mussels they'd ever tasted.)
Mother's Day is not the best day to rank service, since restaurants tend to be packed with unending lines of customers and children. But the service was impeccable. One order ("fruit" instead of "berries" on waffles) was quickly corrected with a generous side order of berries--no questions asked. A crash-and-spill at another table resulted in three of the help unobtrusively tidying things up in under two minutes. Glasses and cups were replenished without interrupting conversations, and everything was done as cheerfully as it was quietly.
The food (Belgian fair--including waffles, crepes, Belgian toast, omelettes with feta, pork cheeks, and liqueurs) was all delicious and served quickly. There was no push for us to finish and make room for those lined up outside, although given the sights we had yet to see, we lingered just a little.
Looking forward to returning to DC--and to B Too!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oahu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
51 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Not to be missed!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2014 via mobile

Am reluctant to write the glowing review this place deserves because I am afraid I will not be able to get a table next time I want to go! BUT food wonderful, flavorful and creative and service attentive, personable and respectful. In this town it is hard to find a server without attitude but everyone here was exceptional! Ladies- do not leave without a chance to peek at the walls in the men's restroom! Won't spoil the surprise....

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
42 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Brilliant Belgian”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

I wasn't happy about waiting 15 minutes with a reservation it it was fun to watch the sous chef assembling waffles. We ate downstairs, exposed brick, a little noisy but cozy. The service was excellent, attentive without being intrusive. Asked for endive salad without chocolate and cocoa, game with, tried and did not like so sent back for salad without which was delicious. I had the Flemish Stew - perfection. Meat so soft it could be cut with a fork, rich red wine sauce, sweet red cabbage and crispy frites. I cleaned my plate! My daughter loved the potato wrapped salmon. We shared the chocolate decadence and posted a photo on Facebook. Fun to have the chef, Bart Vandaele from Top Chef, stop by the table. We will definitely return.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed B Too also viewed

Washington DC, DC
Washington DC, DC
 
Washington DC, DC
Washington DC, DC
 

Been to B Too? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage B Too, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.