We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great sushi and attentive staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Asia 54

Asia 54
2122 P St NW, Washington DC, DC 20037
202-296-1950
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #236 of 2,700 Restaurants in Washington DC
Cuisines: Sushi, Thai, Vietnamese, Asian fusion
Dining options: Reservations, Delivery
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Delivery
Oakland,New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great sushi and attentive staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

We had heard so much about this restaurant and wanted to give it a try. It was so worth it. The sushi was excellent. The appetizers especially the tuna tartar was delicious. Try all the appetizers , they were amazing.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    25
    5
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Good food great service!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

I give this place four rather than 5 stars because I wasnt thrilled with their sushi, the seaweed was a little too flavorful for my liking. That being said, everything else in this place was great! Our waitress was super friendly and helpful, she even suggested places we could visit in DC (and her recommendations turned out to be quite good)! I really liked all the food here except for the one sushi roll i ordered. Their tuna tar tar was AZMAZING, their meat in greapleaves rolls were delicious, their clay pot with pork was also very very good and their beef cubes were fantastic. All in all a great meal at a very cute place! I honestly have to say though I wasnt thrilled with my spicy tuna roll, while the fish was great and fresh the seaweed was too "flavorful" (I dont like to taste my seaweed) and the rice a little hard, still edible and not horrible but definitely not the best i've ever had! I'd come here for the thai/vietnamease food and have some sushi appetizers like the tar tar.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Top Contributor
441 reviews 441 reviews
254 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 126 cities Reviews in 126 cities
210 helpful votes 210 helpful votes
“Just great.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

This place has it all if what you want is great food and service, a great price, and honesty. Fabulous sushi, and we know our sushi. Fabulous pad Thai. Kind and intelligent service from Jeff. Just a great culinary experience, with astounding plating. Really well done.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013 via mobile

This is my new go to sushi joint and a welcome addition to a neighborhood with tons of mediocre sushi restaurants (2 others a block a way).

The fish is fresh. The dishes are creative and thoughtful. The prices are reasonable. And the environment is mellow and clean. I do wish they had outdoor seating but that isn't a possibility on their 2nd floor location.

There is a reason they have great reviews. I almost didn't want to give them five stars because this place is going to blow up and be impossible to get into soon. F it. As long as I can pick up - I'm still happy. Good luck!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Caldwell, New Jersey
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
“Yummy !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

Food was fresh and delicious and staff very pleasant
Restaurant was clean and not noisy like most tourist spots
would highly recommend

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Asia 54 also viewed

Washington DC, DC
Washington DC, DC
 
Washington DC, DC
 

Been to Asia 54? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Asia 54, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.